Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

Hello world!

 

My life is like this picture.  I swim and people watch.  Oh, there are those who swim with me.  We have a good time.  Life is good!!!  It is meant to be enjoyed.

Then there are many who watch.  See my husband and I pastor a small rural church.   People look to see if we are walking the talk.  Is it real??

I have a heart for being real in a world where so many people are trying to be someone that they aren’t.

I love God and am trying to love others.  This, I find is not always an easy thing.

My life is an open book.  I have good days and I have bad days.  Life happens.  The difference is that in my bad days God is still very much with me and that makes all the difference.  Over and over He has turned rotten things into beauty.  He has met our needs in amazing ways.   There is nothing like the peace that comes from God when you are facing daunting circumstances.  You cannot make that kind of thing up no matter how hard one tries.

Welcome to my blog.  You will find that I ramble about many different things but in all of them God is ever present.   I can’t help but bring Him into most things because He has shaped my life into what it is today.

I’d love to read your thoughts on any of my blogs.  Just keep it clean.

til next time

June 1, 2008 - Posted by | just thinking about stuff, living in a fish bowl | , , ,

13 Comments »

  1. Ok, I read it. I love the fishbowl title. Oh so true sometimes how everyone can sit and watch us swim through our lives waiting for us to swim the wrong way and run fishlips first into the side of the glass bowl. Keep going, I like it! I like it! One of these days I may jump into the world of blog so my innerthoughts can be displayed for the world to see. I’m not sure that the world could handle such thoughts. HaHa.

    Comment by Tonya | June 2, 2008 | Reply

  2. Hello, Gloria. Just wanted to send a quick Congratulations! before going to bed. Will be praying for you as you continue your blog and help get Pastor’s going. Take care.

    Comment by just me | June 2, 2008 | Reply

  3. I found you, I liked what you wrote. Now if I can figure this thing out I’ll try it myself.

    Comment by Joann Schu | June 2, 2008 | Reply

  4. Hey Tonya, do you know anyone who would do “fishlips” on a window?? ROFL
    Thanks “Just me” for all the prayers. Got his up and running a whole lot faster than mine.
    Joann – I know you would love this, lets get together and I can walk you through it 🙂

    Comment by Gloria | June 2, 2008 | Reply

  5. congrads. i can never think of what i would want to write. i use to know a pastors wife who had a fishbowl on her kitchen sink, just for this purpose.keep going and i will read it.

    Comment by sue | June 2, 2008 | Reply

  6. I’m surprised that one who despairs of fish-bowl life has opened the shades on a new window! I’m sure we’ll all do our best to toss in a few flakes now and again for you 🙂 Happy swimming!

    Comment by Susan | June 3, 2008 | Reply

  7. Sue,
    You know me, usually not at a loss for words. 🙂

    Comment by Gloria | June 3, 2008 | Reply

  8. It is kind of ironic isn’t it. Maybe it is a midlife crisis??? probably not 🙂 Thanks for any flakes you want to throw my way.

    Comment by Gloria | June 3, 2008 | Reply

  9. Remember, it’s not just the journey, but who is with you on that journey. Sound familiar?

    Comment by Curt | June 3, 2008 | Reply

  10. Oh wow. I just read your bio and now I know why I stumbled onto your blog. (No coincidences right?)
    My husband too use to pastor a small church and no exactly what the fish bowl is. I can’t imagine what a larger one is like. I use to try to be thankful for a smaller body of a hundred or so, compared to a thousand, but I wonder is a smaller one is even harder. Gossip travels through from one end to the other much quicker, and every single word seems to get back to you too. And then, because there is less to choose from, a true friend really is slim pickin’s. Out of the whole body, I came out of it with two. Yes, I do sound as if I came out a survivor! haha I made mistakes, and faced challenges I was surprised with. Obedience to the Lord doesn’t always win friends does it? Salt can be an irritant or add flavor. I wish I could choose which purpose I was used for, but where would my testings and character building come from then?
    Nice to meet you Gloria. 🙂

    Comment by Rochelle Lara | April 9, 2011 | Reply

    • Nice to meet you Roe. I am headed to your blog after I leave this comment.

      It used to amaze me that people wouldn’t get it that the negative things they say get back to the pastor and his wife. The enemy loves to see to this. Now it just saddens me.

      Testing and character building — such wonderful things but difficult at the time.

      Comment by Gloria | April 9, 2011 | Reply

  11. Stumbled on to this. I love it!!! I look forward to reading your blogs. You sound like someone I can very much relate to! : ) Here’s to keepin’ it real!!!! LOVE IT!!!!

    Comment by Kay Kay | October 18, 2012 | Reply

    • Thanks for stopping by Kay Kay. Life is an adventure better kept real!! I am so not into pretending. 🙂

      Comment by Gloria | October 20, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

