Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

What happened to spring??

Wow! Getting this blog up and running was a bit tiring.  Decided though that since I had just did mine that I needed to “help” get Curt’s up and running while I could still remember some of it. 🙂  So by the time I went to sleep last night my brain was really spinning or was that squeaking??  Anyway, our room was way too warm.  When did we have spring??  It seems we went from cold to hot 😦 

On vacation I finally took the time to read the instruction manual for my c-pap machine.  Good thing.  It warned against using it when the temperature in the room was 90 or above.  Well it wasn’t 90 but it was warm and so I had 2 fans going, one in the window and one directly at the foot of the bed.  So, Curt comes in and says “Do we really need 2 fans?”  I took a brief moment to ponder this – rrright.  Let’s see, my c-pap machine increases the temperature by 11 degrees, I’m premenapausal, and I am having a “power surge”, and by this time I am way tired.  What do you suppose I told him?  However, being the nice person that I am, I did turn the one at the foot of the bed to medium.  Aren’t I a saint??  🙂

Getting back to spring, we moved to Iowa 17 years ago and one of the things I have loved is that long about February it can start to thaw and spring is a fairly long season.  Especially when you are comparing it to a Minnesota season (which is approximately 3 days in length).  Here it is June and I feel robbed of spring.  At work today someone said that it could be in the 90’s by later this week.  I hope they were pulling my leg. We had to have our big shade trees cut down in the back yard and so I know we will feel the difference this summer.  I was hoping to gradually adjust to the heat.

“In everything give thanks” that is a goal of mine so I wonder if God is thinking that maybe I need to work just a bit on gratitude.   It will prove to be interesting as I am noticing my internal temperature gauge running a bit on the warmer side.  A friend of mine said that she has given all of her sweaters away.  I love my sweaters!!  However, if my internal guage goes much higher — who knows.

til next time

June 2, 2008 - Posted by | menopause, perimenopause |

4 Comments »

  1. I’m sure anyone can adjust to sleeping in gale-force winds…just give him time! I’d keep those sweaters for a while….never can tell, you might turn into a freeze baby at some point!

    Comment by Susan | June 3, 2008 | Reply

  2. Freeze baby?? I suppose anything IS possible. I shall not part with them just yet 🙂

    Comment by Gloria | June 3, 2008 | Reply

  3. As I remember, spring lasts a long time, it’s summer that lasts only three days.

    Comment by Curt | June 3, 2008 | Reply

  4. You may be right about summer lasting 3 days. From what I remember Fall and Winter are the 2 main seasons 🙂 Oh I forgot about another season up there – construction.

    Comment by Gloria | June 3, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

