Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

Motorcycle shopping

A lot of people seem to be shocked or puzzled when I tell them that I love to ride motorcycles.  I’m not sure what exactly that is saying about me??  Some have even laughed right out loud and they didn’t even wait for me to walk away.  LOL  Truth be told, I love most everything about it.  BK (before kids) I would ride and then the “what if ” thought kept me from joining Curt until the boys were much older — I think seniors in high school.  Now we are back on the road.  (I am only a passenger, haven’t actually drove one since my high school days – and that was a baby one)

Well, we looked at yet another touring bike.  Found one in Des Moines in April that was a beautiful bike, except for some little things.  It had a few mechanical problems.  Tonight this one was mechanically sound just not pretty.  Now my frugal husband liked the idea of a dependable bike.  Of course that sounds good to me too.  Does that mean it can’t be pretty??  I think I have him convinced that we can hold out for both. 

til next time

June 3, 2008 - Posted by | motorcycle |

7 Comments »

  1. It is not many husbands whose wife is encouraging them to buy a larger, nicer bike. I am a lucky man in more ways than one. Our bike is out there somewhere waiting for us to find it.

    Comment by Curt | June 3, 2008 | Reply

  2. No kidding.

    Good luck with all that motorcycling, you two. You can send me a picture, which is as close up and personal I ever want to be to a Daddy, Mommy, OR Baby motorcycle.

    And welcome to the Blogosphere!!

    Comment by Cherie Bell | June 3, 2008 | Reply

  3. Hey Cherie I’ll be sure to send you a picture 🙂

    Comment by Gloria | June 3, 2008 | Reply

  4. I must say, you certainly don’t fit the typical image one has of a “biker-babe”…maybe if you sported a bit more leather?? 😉

    Comment by Susan | June 6, 2008 | Reply

  5. Now really if I had some leather, do you think I would look the part? Or would that just make people laugh harder?

    Comment by Gloria | June 6, 2008 | Reply

  6. Na, Leather is what it takes for “Biker Babe”.

    In recent years I haven’t ridden much. In fact, I gave my bike to my son. Now that I’m older I’m thinking it would be nice to ride on the back. Be careful and have fun on the roads. Good choice to hold out for both looking and running good.

    I’m a little behind on you blog but got caught up today 🙂

    Comment by Suzanne | June 7, 2008 | Reply

  7. Hey Suzanne riding on the back is the way to go. I get to look around and really see the country as we go and close my eyes whenever I want to. 🙂

    Comment by Gloria | June 7, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

