Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

Weddings

My last 2 blogs were pretty heavy so I really want to write about something lighter.  The last 2 Saturdays have found Curt and I at 2 weddings.  Neither wedding did Curt perform so we were able to just go as guests.  I don’t usually get to sit with Curt at weddings so this was nice.

The first wedding was a young couple in love with their whole future ahead of them.  It was an outdoor wedding and the weather was perfect.  I love looking at the bridal party and checking out what choices were made.  I loved the fact that  each attendant had a different dress – different lengths even.   Why didn’t I think of that?  (I did have 4 different spring colors)

I used to have a whole bunch of bridesmaid dresses.  Now not 27 like the movie but some were pretty ugly.  One of my friends – I think on purpose – had this really awful dress – we looked like poor girls from ‘Gone with the Wind’ era. 

On purpose, I mentioned, because I think that she did not in any way want anyone upstaging her 🙂   I wonder now when she looks at the wedding pictures – does she laugh??  I do 🙂

I have since gotten rid of all of my dresses (yes I did this before the movie came out) except that I have kept the one from my sister’s wedding. I love that dress. Now if only I could get into it 😦  Why is it that we keep things we cannot and haven’t been able to wear for years??

I digress.

The wedding Saturday was a retired couple with kids, step kids and a lot of blending to take place.  Again the bridesmaid dresses were similar only in color with one being long and one being short.  

I love weddings, pretty much everything about them.  The hope of a new beginning together.  A start on uncharted territory.   The hope that is in their eyes and the love that is evident.  That sense that comes across that – together we can conquer the world!

til next time

June 8, 2008 - Posted by | relationships |

2 Comments »

  1. I’ve had few bridesmaid dresses over time too and always thought keeping the bridesmaid dresses would be fun for playing dress-up with a daughter some day. Well, no daughter yet, but at least the nieces have been able to have some fun with them. To gain some much needed space I think I’ve given up all but one of them now (it doubled as my prom dress one year and is the one most often borrowed).

    I always thought it would be neat to have a “wedding and anniversary” room some day where the old’ wedding gown, bridesmaid dresses, bouquets, etc. would serve as decorating elements in it. It was a nice idea while it lasted. The idea was it was going to be a place to go and indulge in remembering some grand moments I was priveleged to take part in. I guess that’s what the ol’ photo albums are for though.

    Even if the look of the weddings may differ and change. I agree, weddings are beautiful. They can be a great reminder of what love is supposed to be and to be about.

    “What God has joined together, let no man put asunder!”

    Comment by LisaB | June 9, 2008 | Reply

  2. Lisa, you did bring up a great point. Each dress does represent a privilege and an honor. I do prefer the pictures though – takes up less room.

    Comment by Gloria | June 9, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

