Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

Date night

Curt and I have always tried to have a scheduled date night.  Sometimes when the boys were little it was a bit tough (having money for both a sitter and a night out).  We would get creative (another word for finding something inexpensive).

Tonight I was reminded of how things change. 

Curt  and I went out.  Neither of us changed from our work clothes. Car sure needs to be cleaned inside and out.  We headed to Cheddars to eat, only to find out that they have closed.  Shared a sad moment and then tried a new burger place that sells way too expensive burgers.  BUT you get all the fries you want.  Really just how many fries does one person need??

To top off our evening we went grocery shopping.  Hmm, this is not what it used to be like.  (Now don’t get the wrong idea – we both have agreed that mixing our shopping and date night is a good time saver.)

On the other hand, when either of my boys go out, they clean the car – inside and out.  Give careful thought to where they will take their date. Have numerous things planned.  Money is not an issue (at least not at this point in their life) – Details matter to them. 

This has me wondering if just maybe, time has a way of making things too familiar so that we lose out on the excitement of preparation.  The nervous expectation of a wonderful evening planned.

Have to admit I don’t get too jazzed up about grocery shopping.  So maybe, just maybe we will pick up a lesson or two from our boys.   ( Hey Curt are you reading this???  lol) 

til next time,

June 9, 2008 - Posted by | relationships |

7 Comments »

  1. Something tells me shopping with your husband isn’t quite the same experience as shopping with mine. Shopping with my husband is like shopping with an overgrown kid, complete with a mandatory stop in the toy section to check out the Hot Wheels cars and usually including antics like me having to scold him because he got some poor kid in trouble who was sitting in the cart minding its own business when he (my husband) pushed the button on a toy near the kid while it’s parent wasn’t looking and then ducked around the corner as the parent went to look. He’s terrible! I just can’t take him anywhere, but I gotta admit. He does tend to make it memorable.

    Have you ever tried just spontaneously doing something a little different or maybe even just a bit silly or “adventurous” while shopping to turn the shopping part of datenight into something that’s part of the experience?

    Sometimes my hubby and I “humor” each other by looking through some clothes and shoes and picking something out for each other to try on just to try it. Sometimes we pick out something that we think would actually look nice and sometimes we pick out something just totally outrageous for the giggles. You don’t have to buy something just because you try it on.

    Sometimes we just check out a section we normally never look through just to see what’s there and sometimes we come across things that, well, just kinda spark our ornery imaginations. (Hardware and plumbing sections are great for that).

    Produce sections can be a great source of entertainment when looking for faces and funny shapes in things like potatoes.

    For us date night is just enjoying being able to spend some time together, just the two of us, together in person, without the feeling that the walls have ears and like we have to spend the whole time being on our best behavior or woe be the the consequences. It’s a time to relax and just enjoy each other, a chance to reconnect. Spend a few months apart sometime and trust me, you find a whole new appreciation even for the shopping trip date nights!

    Comment by LisaB | June 10, 2008 | Reply

  2. Of course I am reading your post. Are you bragging that we have a date night, or complaining that it has become routine?

    Comment by cgirod | June 10, 2008 | Reply

  3. Oh Hon, I’m doing a bit of both. I love the fact that it is important to both of us to keep it in our schedule, but watching the boys makes me realize that it has changed. 🙂

    Comment by Gloria | June 10, 2008 | Reply

  4. Lisa, thanks for the laugh. Shopping with Curt does not even begin to resemble anything close to that. I can’t remember ever scolding him for his behavior. lol

    By the time we get to the store we are both pretty exhausted. He takes after his father – “get in, get what is on the list, and get out”. We chose to do shopping on date night because there seemed to be no other time. That may be the whole problem.

    I can’t even imagine spending months apart. I don’t like it when he has to be gone for a week.

    Comment by Gloria | June 10, 2008 | Reply

  5. Gloria, I have no idea why but my computer does NOT like this screen that you have chosen, The font is big enough that anyone who is legally blind could read it from across the room! I’m talking HUGE! which means that it takes an hour for me to read your blog and any comments posted in response to it. ugh.

    Comment by tjalexander | June 10, 2008 | Reply

  6. Ok tj I will look for another blog. Don’t know why it is doing that to you 😦

    Comment by Gloria | June 10, 2008 | Reply

  7. I really had to laugh this time. Not because of what your “date night” consists of, but because it sounds remarkably like ours! 😀 Your comments about the difference between your date and one of the boys’ dates puts me in mind of a movie line (imagine that) from Seven Brides for Seven Brothers “What do I need manners for, I already got me a wife?!” The boys are still trying to be impressive, but you two have passed beyond that stage to living in the truth! I hope you enjoy all your date nights to come. I know I enjoy strolling down the pasta isle holding hands. 😉

    Comment by Susan | June 10, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

