Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

The things we do for friends.

As you may notice I have changed my blog design one more time.  I am not really one who changes wallpaper much. In fact I have had the same walls -paint, paper, in my house for around 15 years.  But the things we will do for our friends. 

Tj, my dear friend, was having trouble reading my blog.  Something about “so huge it took her forever to get thru my blog.”  (see comment on last post)  Now, no one else seems to be having this same problem, so me thinks, it is her computer.  However, I will try a new design to try to help her out 🙂 

Which gets me to thinking about the things we will do for our friends.

There is this concept of deposits and withdrawals.  In that a good friendship should have an ample supply of both.  For example, if all a person does is take from a friendship, then it really isn’t a healthy friendship.  On the other hand, if all a person does is give to the friendship, then that isn’t a healthy friendship either.

Friendship takes work. 

To have a good friend means making an investment.  I love the old saying  – “A true friend is someone who stays, when the rest of the world walks away.”   I am blessed to have people like that in my life.  I am also saddened when I think of people I thought were “true friends” and turned out to be a “Judas”.  But alas, that is a whole other topic.

My challenge for all you bloggers,  — do something extra special for those friends in your life.   

til next time

June 10, 2008 - Posted by | relationships | , ,

10 Comments »

  1. I guess this means it is my turn to make a deposit to this friendship then yeh? I truelly don’t know why computer does not like the one screen. When I was picking out screens I tried that one and it look just like that on my blog too. I thought it was suppose to look that way Until you told me the other day that it wasn’t. I pulled it up on a different computer and wowzer I there the stars were you talked about. Who knew? Just so you know that is the only one that messes up on my computer… wonder why? Anyway you are a dear friend and I will be a faithful reader to your blog!
    Love ya,
    TJ

    Comment by tjalexander | June 10, 2008 | Reply

  2. lol, just trying to be helpful 🙂 — (you already put a lot of deposits in my life)

    Comment by Gloria | June 10, 2008 | Reply

  3. Gloria i wonder how often your account is overdrawn with all you give to the lives of so many? You are very much appreciated (even when it may not seem like it).

    Comment by just me | June 10, 2008 | Reply

  4. thanks ‘just me’ for the kind words. 🙂

    Comment by Gloria | June 10, 2008 | Reply

  5. I second a lot of those praising comments!

    As a friend, I have to admit I had to do a double-take when I read the “about” portion in this layout. You listed “hurting people” under the things important to you. Now, I do know what you meant by that, but I have to admit, when I first read it, it looked to me like it could have been translated as “I like to hurt people and doing so is important to me.”

    Somehow that concept just kept refusing to fit right with the image I have of you!

    Comment by LisaB | June 11, 2008 | Reply

  6. I actually had blogsite envy w/your stars and moon. I was excited to see that you’d changed, so I could change mine over with a clean conscience (as opposed to just copying it and having a guilty conscience).

    But now…hmmm…do I risk torquing off TJ, and maybe having her not read my blog or flaming me in comments? Or do I go for it anyway just so’s I can keep that balance between give and take?

    Decisions. Decisions.

    What the hay…I’m not sure she reads it anyway!

    Comment by Cherie Bell | June 11, 2008 | Reply

  7. Lisa, first thing I did was add “helping” — oops.

    Cherie, I love tht blog design and I shall look forward to reading your blog on it. I think that I am settled here, you know how I like change 🙂

    Comment by Gloria | June 11, 2008 | Reply

  8. I WANT EVERYONE TO NOTE THAT TJ READS CHERIE’S BLOG AND I DON’T KNOW THAT I WAS TORQUED AT THE FACT IT WAS THERE, MORE TORTURED. BUT IF YOU MUST CHANGE IT, I MUST PUT UP WITH IT CHERIE BELL.

    Comment by tjalexander | June 11, 2008 | Reply

  9. Hey Cherie, see the capitals. She be yelling. ROFL

    Comment by Gloria | June 11, 2008 | Reply

  10. :p~

    Comment by tjalexander | June 11, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

