Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

Diet – Who has time?

Why is it that I can have focus, stick-to-itism, and determination in so very many areas of my life, but when it comes to diet all of that flies out the window???  This, has been a long unanswered question in my life. 

I have tried more types of diets than I can count or even remember.  I’m thinking back to the “cabbage soup” diet.  Used to love cabbage soup. :p

Just the mention of a diet and I gain weight. 

Problem is that the society that we live in caters to bigger waist lines.  I remember when McDonald’s first came to my town.  I was a kid and it was so cool.  If you remember back that far, then you will remember that the adult portion size meal was what is now the kid’s regular happy meal.  

Time is another factor.  Eating sensibly and healthy requires preparation and planning.  While on vacation I had a whole week of eating right and exercising.  By the end of the week I was feeling so much better.

BUT then it is home and 2 jobs, boys that need my time, house that needs cleaning, gardens that need tending,  and an unending list of things to get done at the church.  As each day passed so did my attention to my new healthy lifestyle.      

“Every person has exactly 24 hours in each day. No one has more.”   “We make of each day what we choose to make of it.”  These are things I have said for years and yet somehow I have glossed over this when it comes to healthy issues.  “I DON’T HAVE TIME TO EAT RIGHT AND EXERCISE!”

I would love to proclaim “No more excuses.  Today is the start of my new lifestyle.”  Oh wait, I have already done that a few times 😦  ugh!

So that isn’t the answer.  What is? 

Staying in the truth.  Keeping the truth in front of me. 

Just what is the truth?  — in a nutshell — My body is unhealthy and it is not a good thing. 

Another truth is – I need God to help me daily.  This is His temple and He has lots to say about it.  I will try to  listen and to allow Him to guide me and to quit making excuses.

til next time

June 13, 2008 - Posted by | living in a fish bowl, weight loss |

2 Comments »

  1. This sort of smacks of the budgeting thing to me. ‘Specially the part about keeping the truth in front of you…that IS what you meant, right? 🙂

    I’m starting to think that being fat is sort of like a mirror image of money…the same but opposite. W/calories -the problem is that we put too many in, spend too few…as opposed to $$…where the opposite can be true…

    And…not that I have a handle on the solution to this…you KNOW how I struggle too…but I wonder…what about not trying to diet, but just maybe keeping track of what you eat for a few weeks (days? hours? minutes?)…then doing a little tally. You know, making an effort to take an honest look at what’s what. Remembering, of course, nothing’s perfect…even record keeping.

    (Oh…well…God……God’s perfect.)

    Comment by Cherie Bell | June 18, 2008 | Reply

  2. “the same but opposite” I hadn’t looked quite at it that way. This does give me new hope, I remember when I thought that I could never live daily in the budget Curt had set up. Now, it is not this huge thing anymore. Most times I am not even thinking about it. And I’m staying in budget 🙂

    So …….. this could just be the answer. Thanks hon, you have helped me once again to stay in the truth.

    Comment by Gloria | June 18, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

