Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

“new and improved”

Some men will buy a new car  or some fancy new gadget when they are entering mid-life.  You know something shiny.  Some call it a mid-life crisis.

Well, I would just like my shiny head of hair back.  This hair that comes with mid-age is for the birds.  No really, they may want to use it for bedding.

My hair has been a changing.   I used to have really thick hair.  Now it feels and looks like a straw broom – right down to the shedding – finding pieces of “straw” everywhere.   Had me wondering about thyroid, but Doc assures me that it comes with growing older, which he should know as we are about the same age.

Which leads me to the “new and improved”.  I finally found a conditioner that I like and suits my hair at this age.  Then they go and improve it and claim 85% more shiny.  What does this mean exactly?  Don’t they know the rule.  If it ain’t broke – don’t fix it??

Who did they test this on?  Women my age?  animals?  or is it just an advertising gimmick?

One of my friends mentioned she has went with short hair basically because of the changes going on.  Does it really need to come to that?   I’m not ready to throw in the towel just yet. 

So I will try this new and improved conditioner and who knows maybe it will be 85% more shiny.  In which case I should have the hair of a teenager then.  It will go quite nicely with my color from a box 🙂

til next time

June 15, 2008 - Posted by | menopause, perimenopause |

2 Comments »

  1. Not ready to throw in the towel yet? What happened to “I want short hair.” It used to be “My Husband won’t let me cut my hair…” I’m thinking was that entirely accurate???
    Be careful what you ask for…some folks ask for a shiny head of hair, and just end up with a shiny head! 😮

    Comment by Susan | June 16, 2008 | Reply

  2. Susan, You know as soon as I got him to agree to shorter hair then I realized that I don’t think I want it. I chalk it up to a mid-life thing myself – can’t make up my mind :p

    No, no none of this shiny head stuff — shiny hair 🙂

    Comment by Gloria | June 16, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

