Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

Changing

Just noticed on my site that in my list of categories – pre-menopausal comes right under Pastor’s wife.  Now I realize that it is alphabetical.  Still I find that mildly humorous.

The fact that I am pre-menopausal has made for some very interesting moments as a Pastor’s wife.  I used to think that I was very well mannered.  Now I am finding that I can cry at the drop of a hat, over the very stupid-ist stuff.  Or for that matter – cry for no apparent reason at all.  

Or I am finding that there are times that for no apparent reason I am feeling overwhelmed.  At first I thought that it was my crazy busy lifestyle, but after removing some things, changing other things and spending more quiet time with God I am finding that it is something bigger than that.  My body  – it be a changing.

I have always had a wide range of emotions but this can at times be over the top even for me. 

Try to explain that to a 20 year old.  Andrew has went to asking me these days – 2 things – How are you doing mom?  followed by “How are you doing emotionally?”  This last one has been added and is very important to him so that he knows whether or not to bring up questionable topics.   Or if it might be a great time to exit stage left. 

Saying yes to God and no to the flesh has taken on a whole new dimension! 

I could just live in the excuse of “mid-life”, but that doesn’t fit with my desire to enjoy each day and live life to the fullest. 

Prayer for today – “O God, awaken me to what I am and help me become the most I can be for You.”

Things they be a changing. 

til next time

June 16, 2008 - Posted by | menopause, Pastor's wife, perimenopause | ,

2 Comments »

  1. “O Sweet Baby” and as stated in another blog I read recently “This too shall pass”… eventually 😉

    Comment by tjalexander | June 16, 2008 | Reply

  2. thanks tj “O Sweet Baby” is exactly what I needed – brought a smile to my face 🙂

    “this to shall pass” also brought a smile to my face as I know that eventually I will be past this stage of my life but then comes the wrinkles 😛 — wait that is a whole other blog topic LOL

    Comment by Gloria | June 17, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

