Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

A day at the lake.

 This is my husband doing one of the things he loves to do with his spare time.  Since spare time is a precious commodity he doesn’t get to do it often enough. This was a day outing we took last fall. 

I wish that I could share in his love for boats.  However, it is better for all involved if I stay on the shoreline.   It isn’t that I haven’t tried over the years to enjoy boating.  I have mustered up all the courage I could find and pulled myself up by the boot straps and stepped into our speed boat, only to cause my children to possibly need therapy in the future. 

Or there was the time we were with a group of minister friends and we were all taking canoes down the river.   Well, pride stepped in, – I wasn’t going to be the wimp.  So off we go – Andrew was with 2 other boys having a good ole time. Poor Chris was in the front of our canoe, with me in the middle and Curt doing the steering.  Oh, what I nightmare.  It was one of those beautiful scenic views ruined by a stupid boat.  Once we got started there was no turning back; we had to make it to the check point some 3 hours away.   

 At one point we almost decapitated Chris.  My darling husband, who really does know how to handle boats must have forgotten everything he ever knew.  Maybe it had something to do with his lovely wife about to have a nervous breakdown right from the beginning that only got worse as we sailed on.  Whatever it was, it was decided then by all three guys that they would let me stay on shore which is where I want to be 🙂  It was the longest river ride of my life.  Now I do enjoy tubing down the river.   Just what is the difference?? I don’t know, maybe it is a control thing??

 So I take pictures, bring a book, a radio and have truly a fabulous time.  I love to wave from the SHORE!

 

 This is Andrew, you might not be able to see it very well but he is hot dogging it.  I thought he was going to fall right in, but no – he was having a good ole time.

He does prefer the speed boat.  Something about the wind not having enough power and he doesn’t like to be dead in the water when the wind stops.

 

  On this particular trip there were 5 of us.  Curt, Andrew, my mom, Anissa, and I.  We spent the day at the lake and had a picnic.  While one of them was boating the rest of us would play games on this great little gazebo that extends over the water. 

   We finally talked Anissa into giving it a try.  What’s the worst thing that could happen? 

 Well, she found herself stuck on the other side of the lake.  Curt started around the lake to help her, when these 2 rangers showed up and gave him a lift.  It was the funniest thing.  A damsel in distress with a ranger truck riding up to the rescue.  I don’t think this was what she had in mind.  (hey Nissa, if you want you can pay me to remove your picture. LOL – nah it’s a great story.)

  

 I did tell her she would have a story to share and an experience to go with it.  Just incase you thought she couldn’t do it, here she is and once they got her off the edge she was a sailing. 

 I think she prefers speed boats too.  I hear she is quite the water skier. 

 

 Lastly, this is my mom who  went with us that day.  She comes down to spend a few weeks at a time with us.  Not nearly as often as I would like her to.  Something about our life being way to busy of a schedule for her.

She loves to play rummikub and do word circle books.  Both of which we brought along that day. 

Hey mom, I miss you.  See ya on the 4th of July.

A day at the lake.  Enjoying the beauty that is all around. Taking time to just relax, have fun, and rest. Making memories that will last a lifetime.

Hey let’s go to the lake!!!

til next time

June 22, 2008 - Posted by | just thinking about stuff |

10 Comments »

  1. Hey Gloria, the canoe trip must have been a rough day indeed. You seem to have completely forgotten that we also had our dog Max in the canoe with us.

    Comment by cgirod | June 22, 2008 | Reply

  2. Oh how could I forget that. Must have blocked it from my memory. Thanks for reminding me. That stupid dog wouldn’t sit still for nothing. One side of the canoe to the other side of the canoe and each time rocking us back and forth. I thought for sure we were going to tip.

    Comment by Gloria | June 22, 2008 | Reply

  3. “Oh sweet baby!”

    Comment by tjalexander | June 22, 2008 | Reply

  4. thank you TJ. 🙂

    Comment by Gloria | June 22, 2008 | Reply

  5. It’s never fun being scared. Whether it’s a fear that others understand or not. If it’s something that scares you then it’s very real and very not fun! I’m feelin your pain girlfriend. 😉

    Comment by tjalexander | June 22, 2008 | Reply

  6. No matter how much I tell myself that it doesn’t make sense – I am a good swimmer for goodness sakes. But just get me in a boat, on the water and all rational thoughts go out the window. I am sure it is a direct result of a incident with a canoe when I was a small child. You’d think I’d be over that by now. ugh!

    Comment by Gloria | June 22, 2008 | Reply

  7. Unfortunately, I can totally empathize with the annoying irrational fear thing. It becomes to a person like cryptonite to superman. No matter how strong you think you are, one little exposure to that irrational fear causer and instantly you find yourself at your most vulnerable (without being unconscious), caught in some invisible web of fear that seems to make otherwise normal actions, behaviors, etc. considerably more of an effort and those who are immune to it become baffled by its power over you and no doubt can’t grasp the urgency you feel from it despite your being fully aware of the fact that the situation really does not actually warrant such an intense response. If you’re like me, the fact that the fear isn’t just automatically cast out by the rational logic you know to be true regarding it just makes it that much more annoying and frustrating ’til you’re no longer just scared your angry, frustrated, disapointed in yourself if not disgusted with yourself over it as well.

    At least with the boat thing you actually have an incident to possibly trace it back to and good swimmer or not, no doubt when the thing is rocking, possibilities that make swimming a moot point are bound to cross an already uneasy mind.

    Sometimes I think it’s the “irrational” part that makes such a fear so frustrating to tackle. If it were rational you could just work out some sort of logical A then B then C plan of attack for it to either eliminate the issue-causing triggors or conquor it. When it’s irrational you can’t even make sense of just what the problem actually is about it.

    Sounds like it was a fun trip to the lake. Glad you were able to find ways to enjoy it too.

    Comment by LisaB | June 23, 2008 | Reply

  8. Lisa, very well put. That’s it exactly.

    Never thought about the superman analogy. I like that.

    I’ve tried to do the A then B then C thing only I never could get past A — I would get in the boat with all the determination I could muster but then… and you are so right it does leave me very disappointed and disgusted with myself. I kept thinking that I should be able to get victory over this stupid thing which is why I would occasionally try again but now I really do prefer to sit on the beach and people watch. And I don’t think the guys will let me back in, even if I wanted to 🙂

    Comment by Gloria | June 23, 2008 | Reply

  9. Just out of curiosity, have you ever been on any water ride at any of the amusement parks? If so, do they elicit the same fear response for you? What about pedal boats?

    Comment by LisaB | June 24, 2008 | Reply

  10. Lisa, I love the log ride at Adventureland. Weird that it doesn’t invoke fear.

    Curt says “if it is floating on the water and you can’t touch the sides then you don’t like it” that pretty much sums it up. 🙂 I’m not quite as vocal on a pedal boat but it isn’t pretty.

    Comment by Gloria | June 24, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

