Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

Look around you

Went on a motorcycle ride that was absolutely fabulous.  It was a very hilly, curvy road.  At times I almost forgot I was in Iowa.  This was the type of road I hate to drive a car on, but has now become my favorite type of road to take the cycle on. One of the reasons I love to ride on the motorcycle is that  I look, really look at the scenery.  I notice things I wouldn’t even see in a car.

A couple of my friends from church are great photographers and they would have loved the scenic views, the rolling hills, and the clouds.  The clouds were unbelievable.  The smell was also impressive – wild flowers, fresh cut hay, warm air, but then there was a point when Curt said “Hmmm this isn’t wild flowers anymore.”  — Yes, we were going through farm land – not all of it smelled good, but all of it was beautiful.

As we rode along, for most of the way there was no other traffic.   At one point it felt like we were almost trespassing on this beautiful, quiet, scenic view.   It was like a ride back in time,  so peaceful and serene.  To think the view is there all the time, but how often do I not even realize it because I am too busy or distracted or too tired. 

Take time to smell the roses.  Heard it a thousand times and yet how profound it still is.  Take time to enjoy the day.  Take time to see the beauty.  Take time to look around and really see God fingerprints.  Don’t miss the opportunities to be awed by the beauty of the world we live in.  Sure not everything is roses and lollipops and sometimes we have to look deeper, but the beauty is there. 

til next time

June 23, 2008 - Posted by | just thinking about stuff, motorcycle | ,

3 Comments »

  1. Isn’t it wonderful when you can take time to “smell the roses” in peace like that and can actually appreciate what a gift doing so really is!

    I know of at least one person who never understood the concept of going for a “sunday drive”. He thinks it’s just a waste of gas and time. (Unfortunately, these days gas prices seem to be supporting him on that argument.) He’s had certain places that he goes and he has no interest in checking out anything beyond that. I find it so sad. He has no idea how much he’s missing out on in life.

    Your bike ride sounded beautiful. I hope you get lots of opportunities to smell the roses like that.

    Comment by LisaB | June 24, 2008 | Reply

  2. Lisa, thanks for taking me down memory lane. I haven’t thought about “Sunday drives” in a long time.

    Light bulb moment – As a kid, most every Sunday my dad would take us out for a drive around the country side. We’d roll the windows down and just enjoy. This is probably one of the reasons that I love to ride on the cycle – hadn’t made that connection before.

    I also feel sad for the person you mentioned. There is so much beauty to be seen. So very much of it is indeed in the journey, not just the destination.

    Comment by Gloria | June 24, 2008 | Reply

  3. God’s goodness is all around us. Enjoy the moment!

    Comment by cgirod | June 24, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

