Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

Always a challenge

It seems that the older my boys get – the more competitive they become. 

Who is:   the fastest,  the strongest,  the one that can run the farthest,  the one most toned,  who can do the most _______  fill in the blank.  They can turn anything into a competition.  And if there happens to be an audience so much the better.

I was thinking about how sometimes we can look at things thru the eyes of what others are doing or have.  To be content with where I am, while yet striving to make the improvements that I can make – this is at times a challenge. 

I am a pretty driven person.  Learning to let some things drop off my radar is a challenge. 

I grew up in a home where my mom did it all.  Truly she was super woman before women’s lib ever came about.  She worked full time (plus during peak seasons – overtime) and kept such a clean house you could eat off the floor.  She hates it when I say that, but it is true.  She also entertained, was a gracious host and had the house back in order before going off to bed.  Can you say Wonder woman???

My house, well let me think, when was the last time I mopped the kitchen?  Does cleaning up doggie vomit count?   And don’t even get me started on the whole ‘spring and fall cleaning’ – yes my mom did that too – how I have no idea. 

The challenge to keep up my house is always there, because after all I’m the pastor’s wife and certainly my house should be in tip-top shape  (fishbowl anyone?).  This was way too much pressure.  I finally decided that it was more important to me that people feel comfortable and welcome than they see a spotless house.    Letting go of what others think – that is a challenge.

I’d hire a cleaning lady but I’m told that is not in the budget.  Go figure. 

Finding balance – that is the key.   De-cluttering has helped me a lot.  It is amazing how things can pile up.  Getting the boys to pick up after themselves was necessary for them and for my sanity.   

Curt also helps around the house.  This is a challenge of a different kind for me.  I would rather he not feel the need to help around the house.  I know that he is pressed for time also.   Yet with both of us working it does make sense.   I look forward to the day when I give up one of my jobs and then can take back my house.  There is painting and refinishing that I would love to tackle, but not now.  And maybe I would get at that spring cleaning!?! 

It is a challenge to know how to effectively plan our days.  To have a good balance of work, fun and relaxation. 

til next time

June 24, 2008 - Posted by | living in a fish bowl, Pastor's wife, relationships, twins | , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Balance can be a challange for sure. My mother didn’t work outside of the house but she had 6 jobs she had to pick up after and feed. Not to mention a husband who needed his tea. However like your mother she also kept a spotless house. How? I dunno, I can’t keep a spotless house and I’m single with no children. But like you say, I guess I don’t put a spotless house top notch on the priority list. Clean? yes a clean house is nice, but I would rather go to a movie if it arises then mop the floor. The floor will be there tomorrow, the oppurtunity to spend time with a friend may not be. Clean? yes!, Spotless? ah not so important. Live life, enjoy your relationships, bond with your family, read a book, take a walk… ect. Life is too short not to enjoy it because you are too busy mopping. Not that mopping is a bad thing mind you, just not #1.

    Comment by tjalexander | June 24, 2008 | Reply

  2. tj – amen to that!
    love the reference to the 6 jobs – what a hoot!

    Comment by Gloria | June 24, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

