Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

Friendship – Making memories

Was thinking about the things that one remembers about friendships.  Seems to me that the things that are brought up long after the event are those things that are either out of character for the individual, something just plain silly, or outrageously funny.

One of the things I remember from college is: we would wake up one of our friends long about 2 in the morning and then whisk her off to Perkins in her jammies. (earlier we would have gotten into her room and grabbed her robe and slippers).   Absolutely hilarious.  Oh the memories.

As a Pastor’s wife some think that one should be dignified and posed at all times. That to me sounds pretty legalistic.  While I do believe that I should be a person of integrity and high standards, I don’t think that means that I cannot publicly have fun and enjoy life. 

So today – here we are in plain sight of all the neighbors.  Enjoying the kiddie pool my secret sister from church gave to me.  Of course Curt couldn’t put the pool in the backyard.  Yesterday Cara and splashed in it.  We laughed until it hurt.  We couldn’t get anyone to join us though.

Today we talked (arm twisted) Carolyn into joining us.   🙂 Then Curt got in on it and then Terry joined in.  Now, not all at the same time, the pool is only sooo big.  But as you can see 3 people fit in it.  We were all soaked by the time it was all over.

So my thinking on this whole memory making idea is that go ahead and have some fun.  So what if you look a bit silly.  (However, I am hoping the newspaper guy was not lurking around the corner).  🙂   I do have some dignity.

Enjoy the moment and make it count.  Try something new.  Look for ways to have fun.     Laugh until you cry.   Sometimes we take ourselves way to serious.  As you can see by this picture today was not one of the days I took myself toooo serious.  It was GREAT!

til next time

July 6, 2008 - Posted by | just thinking about stuff, Pastor's wife, relationships | ,

7 Comments »

  1. Sounds like fun! Although…you hope the newspaper guy wasn’t lurking?…from a small town paper that only reaches an audience of how many?… compared to a public blog on the web which reaches an audience of how many? Too funny! Bet that felt good in the heat of the weekend!

    Comment by LisaB | July 7, 2008 | Reply

  2. What a fun time!! I would like to go on record as saying “Dignity is overrated!” I’m sure everyone who knows me is stunned! (NOT)
    Cara and Carolyn are like two beautiful peas in a pod, too bad we can’t see your lovely smiling face too! Just looking at this photo, you can almost feel how much joy each of you experienced, and how it will forever be a smile every time you think on it.

    Comment by Susan | July 7, 2008 | Reply

  3. Lisa, with the small town paper it is hard to say just how they would have worded it and what picture they would use. I did pick out one of the better pictures 🙂

    Susan, welcome back! Let me know if you want to borrow my pool? lol

    Comment by Gloria | July 7, 2008 | Reply

  4. i can almost hear the laughter

    Comment by just me | July 7, 2008 | Reply

  5. I will say I didn’t want to get in that little pool and get all wet, but a good time was had by all. 🙂

    Comment by Sis | July 8, 2008 | Reply

  6. Just me – it was great.
    Sis – See a little arm twisting wasn’t so bad 😉

    Comment by Gloria | July 8, 2008 | Reply

  7. […] After I turned 15 my sister became my friend.   I am blessed.  I know many sisters who are only sisters, never friends.  She is the kind of person who is there when I need her.  The kind of person who isn’t afraid to tell me what I need to hear,  who knows when something isn’t right, and she is not only a ‘good weather’ friend but a true friend.  (click here for our summer fun) […]

    Pingback by memories « Living Life in a Fish Bowl! | November 22, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

