Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

Life in a fishbowl

 

Ever get the feeling you are being watched??

Some people have this view that life is different for a Pastor and his family.  Spend a few moments talking with those kinds of people and I begin to feel that overwhelming dread that I must act, say and be perfect.  “Yikes – beam me up Scotty.”

Anyone in this fishbowl life knows that there are those out there who have double standards.  One that they ‘can’ live by and one that Ministers ‘must’ live by.   The key is to live by God’s standard.

Long ago now I made the decision to be me.  I am sure that God was quite pleased when I decided to quit trying to be someone He had not made me to be 🙂  Then I married a minister and toyed with the idea of becoming the stereotypical pastor’s wife and had to start the process all over again. 

As we draw closer to God He will mold us and make us what He wants us to become.

Are there two standards?  Nope – What I see In God’s word applies to all not just Pastor’s and their families.  We (all Christians) should live with integrity – according to Psalms 101:2 – this applies to the home also .  Love should be an action verb in our lives beginning with our family and extending to all others.  Honesty is a given – not up for debate.  Kindness should describe us.   We should strive to be holy in all our conduct.  I haven’t met anyone yet that has attained this, so that only means that there is room for improvement.

I do believe that because of my role in the church I am more visible than others.   I have purposed in my heart to be an example that serving God is not drudgery, boring, mundane, or a list of do nots.  Instead that it is the best possible life.  Living for God brings fulfillment and purpose.   And during hard times there is nothing to compare to the hope that one can have in a living God who cares.  Not to mention that the peace that comes from knowing God and that He is in control of my life, that is beyond words.

Life as a Pastor’s wife has been one adventure after another.  Some of them great, some of them not so great, but all of them an adventure.   It is my hope that as others watch me in this fishbowl, that they will want what I have – A relationship with the one true God through Jesus.  The great thing is they can have it – it’s a free gift.

What is your fishbowl saying about you?

til next time

July 8, 2008 - Posted by | living in a fish bowl, Pastor's wife | ,

5 Comments »

  1. Hey Glory,
    You do a great job at being you. I just want to let you know that you make a great example. Also can I sprinkle some foody in your fishbowl???? Is feeding the fish allowed?
    Have a great day!

    Comment by tjalexander | July 9, 2008 | Reply

  2. I completely agree, there are not two standards, and pastors are people too!

    Comment by cgirod | July 9, 2008 | Reply

  3. tj, feeding the fish is a grand idea 🙂

    cg, what?? you mean they put their pants on one leg at a time just like others?? lol 🙂

    Comment by Gloria | July 9, 2008 | Reply

  4. I thought watching fish in a bowl was supposed to be relaxing…I think watching you all the time would exhaust me, you’re so busy!!! I would like to offer some advice I learned from Dory… “just keep swimming, just keep swimming..” 😉

    Comment by Susan | July 9, 2008 | Reply

  5. Susan, I loved that movie, actually heard a sermon using clips from that movie – while on vacation. That was weird. Really just made me want to watch the movie again. I’m sure that was not what the minister was going for 😉

    Comment by Gloria | July 9, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

