Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

max

Here is Max and Curt doing their back stretches. I have this picture framed on my computer desk.  I love it.  I love our dog.  He is the best dog.  He also likes to think he is human 🙂

I’d noticed some lumps on Max, but I did my best to ignore them.  Not real smart I know, but denial is an art.  Finally, I said something to Curt and he took Max in today.

Our local vet says Max has maybe 3 months to live.  When I asked if it would have made a difference if we’d brought him in right away, thank goodness, she said no. 

3 months.  I can’t hardly wrap my mind around that.  We got Max when he was a little over a year.  (He has a bad history — vet found him on the highway in real bad shape.  He must have been abused by a man, because he took a long time to warm up to Curt.  He would shake and cower anytime he heard a man’s voice.)  He still at times has nightmares and shakes violently.

We have loved on him (especially me) and he has blossomed (can I use that word for a boy dog?) into a wonderful, super pet.  This has me thinking about people and how sometimes we meet someone and have this first impression that might not be accurate.  I think you can tell a lot about a person the first time you meet them, but I also think sometimes it is misleading.

I remember when I first met Curt – he made such an impression on me in that I commented to my friends that I must have done something (what I had no clue) to make this fella mad at me.   Then to my shock he asked me out.  Long story short, he had just gotten out of the Marines and it was all that military training that I was noticing.  He wasn’t mad at all.  I am so glad that I didn’t stick with my first impression.  🙂

When we first brought Max home he had a bad case of vomiting.  We soon figured out he just can’t stomach very much people food.  I am so glad we didn’t give up on him.  He is a terrific pet.  First impressions — don’t be so quick to measure people (or animals) up.  They just might surprise you if you give them a chance.  

til next time

July 15, 2008 - Posted by | just thinking about stuff, relationships | , ,

6 Comments »

  1. Boy, I can’t believe Max only has 3 month to live. I’m in shock and I told Cara just before I put her to bed and she was crying. She took the news very hard and so have I. Give Max a hug from us.

    Comment by Sis | July 15, 2008 | Reply

  2. Poor Max! The good news is we can still pray for him and God could still choose to heal him like He’s done for many people over the years (and other animals, remember my sister’s cat that I found near death while my sister was halfway across the country? We prayed for her and now she’s fat, sassy, very much alive and happily inhabiting my sister’s front porch). Never underestimate the power of prayer!

    I took my mom’s cat in today and was relieved to hear that physically, she’s fine (aside from being overweight) and that her “problem” is just that she’s easily stressed, neurotic, doesn’t handle change well (kinda like the people in this household…what’s that about pets and their owners starting to resemble each other…?)

    While it’s obvious that us people are probably God’s favorite of the species He’s created, I firmly believe that God cares about His animals that He created as well (more so than probably a lot of people want to acknowledge or even consider).

    Did He make man first? No, He made animals first. I suspect he could’ve created them any other time along the way if He had wanted to after man. The fact He chose the way He did makes me wonder if He might’ve just wanted a little time with them to Himself before sharing them with us and if that’s the case then it’s likely He wanted to because He cared about them.

    God caring about the animals could help explain why He preferred the farmed offering over the hunted offering in Cain and Abel’s day.

    What’s one of the first jobs He gave man? Take care of the garden and name the animals.

    What did He save when He flooded the earth? An ark full of people? No! He saved an ark full of animals.

    Just look how many animals He includes in the Bible as symbols for this and that.

    There are some examples where He makes mention of an animal where it would be easy to miss a lot of the significance of it if one didn’t know or understand anything about the animal. To get to know and understand animals better can help one to understand the greatness and majesty of Him even more, especially the love factor in some cases. I have a hard time believing that He would so constantly give animals such an important role in our history if He didn’t care about them. (Ok, I’m climbing off my soapbox now.)

    Comment by LisaB | July 15, 2008 | Reply

  3. Sis, will do — Max has gotten more hugs in the last 12 hours than probably all last week. He is eatin’ it up.

    Lisa, Loved the soapbox. Good thoughts on animals. The variety of animals is an example of the creativity of God. I will certainly be praying for Max. 🙂

    Comment by Gloria | July 16, 2008 | Reply

  4. awe MAX!

    Comment by tjalexander | July 16, 2008 | Reply

  5. Max doesn’t really know what is going on, but he is getting more attention and more treats than he ever has, if he were human he would have to suspect that something was up!

    Comment by cgirod | July 16, 2008 | Reply

  6. I’m really sorry to hear about Max. He’s a lucky dog to be so loved and appreciated. It doesn’t seem to get any easier as we get older to lose our pets…maybe just the opposite. We share your heartache. Love you kids.

    Comment by Cherie Bell | July 16, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

