Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

Menopause Parking

Just why is it that this whole menopausal thing has to be so “in my face”?    Why is that I couldn’t just wake up one morning and say ever so sweetly, “Oh, I’ve entered the next phase of my life.  Isn’t this sweet!!  How precious.”  Instead of “Ugh, why is it always hot in here.   Why do I feel the need to slap someone?  and When did my emotions get so out of control?  oh and pass the  kleenex cuz I think I’m gonna cry.” 

Now before you get the wrong idea, I don’t go around slapping people.  My family, generally is the only ones who might think that my emotions are running away with themselves.  I really am trying to be gentle.  But, just how am I suppose to graciously handle this?? Thought about sleeping until it is over, but I’ve heard it can take a while.  Medications?? not ready for that.  Prayer?  absolutely, been doing a lot of that 🙂  

I think I”ve finally figured it out.   God is wanting me to experience this so that I can truly understand how difficult it can be.   You know the whole ‘able to relate to and be sympathetic’  —  So, um, now that I’ve experienced the various possible side affects – me thinks I’ve learned enough from this experience.  🙂

Ah well,  the saga continues so I went searching on utube for something funny that has to do with pre-menopause.  Thought maybe if I could laugh, it would help.

Chonda Pierce is a great comedian.  If you ever get the opportunity to go and see her, you won’t be disappointed.  She leaves you in stitches.  UTube has many tidbits of her comic act.

I remember the first time I saw the sign for ‘Expectant Mothers’ parking.  It was at a Shopko. 

I’m all for menopause parking.  It would be so much easier to remember where I parked.  Still I would have to remember what door I went in 😦   I was never great at finding the car anyway, but now it can be down right comical.

Andrew made breakfast for Curt and I Friday morning.  Hmmmm, I wonder if it had anything with my mood swings??

til next time

August 4, 2008 - Posted by | just thinking about stuff, menopause, perimenopause |

6 Comments »

  1. Oh sweet baby. I’ll be gentle from now on. I will try not to smirk or poke fun at something I don’t understand. YET. But please, JUST DON’T SLAP ME! I’ll be nice! I promise 😉 I love ya Glory, and remember “This too shall pass” Maybe sooner then later.

    Comment by tjalexander | August 4, 2008 | Reply

  2. I would like to leave a comment, but somehow I don’t know if there is a right thing to say.

    Comment by cgirod | August 5, 2008 | Reply

  3. tj, I pray that when the time comes (far far away for you) the Dr.s will have come up with a pill to make it go away or that you will be one of those who flies thru it easily.

    Curt, staying on the safe side I see 🙂

    Comment by Gloria | August 5, 2008 | Reply

  4. You are really on to something with menopause women parking only. Honestly, pregnant women need the exercise!

    Comment by Haralee.Com | August 5, 2008 | Reply

  5. Haralee, I’ll be sure to blog about it if I should ever see a sign for menopause parking.

    I well remember the days of pregnancy and how tired I was but if stores really want to help moms, then maybe they should think about a ‘mother’s with infant child/children’ parking. That would truly be a benefit worth giving.

    Comment by Gloria | August 5, 2008 | Reply

  6. I have seen some signs as “expectant/new mothers” parking that’s when you need the help…to get that 80# car seat into the store…how does that work? A 10 pound baby, in a 10 pound car seat weighs 80 pounds?!?!?!!
    Just keep swimming 😉

    Comment by Susan | August 5, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

