Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

Atmosphere

Have you ever walked into a room and the tension was so strong you could “cut it with a knife”?  Or maybe you have walked into a room and you could just sense the excitement and the fun in the air.  What about when you are talking with someone and the conversation is going in a direction you don’t want to travel?    Have you heard someone say all the right words but the tone was just the opposite?  or maybe the hypocrisy was so thick that it didn’t matter what was said.   The atmosphere that we find ourselves in is more than just air.

A peek into the fishbowl —

As Christians we take Christ where ever we go.  This is not something to be taken lightly or to be taken for granted.  I had a situation come up today where I was pretty much in the right and the wrong all at the same time.  Wrong in that I let my frustration be evident by my actions.   Actions can speak louder than words.  This got me to reflecting on how our actions can have an impact on the atmosphere around us.

I firmly believe that we can change the atmosphere we find ourselves in.  We can do this by: refusing to give in to negativity or by changing the subject or giving someone a compliment or even just by a genuine smile.  In the same way that we can add fuel to the fire, we can also put out the fire.

All around us people are hurrying, stressed, overworked, tense, having financial problems, and/or facing huge issues.  How do we contribute?  Do we add to the stress?  Do we defuse the tension by taking positive actions?  Are we so wrapped up in our self that we totally miss what is going on in someone else’s life?

Sometimes we just miss it.  It could be for a thousand different reasons but the outcome is the same – we’ve let our ‘flesh’ get the best of us.  It is good to remember to extend mercy to others because you just never know when you will need it.  

As for my little situation – things were worked out and an understanding was achieved.  It doesn’t always work out like this.  I wish that it did, but when you are dealing with people there is no cookie cutter solution.  

til next time

August 26, 2008 - Posted by | just thinking about stuff, living in a fish bowl, Pastor's wife, relationships | , , , ,

6 Comments »

  1. no, throwing cookie cutters at someone you don’t want to deal with is not an option, but it can make you smile in your minds eye to see them ducking a few projectiles 😉 j/k

    Comment by Susan | August 26, 2008 | Reply

  2. lol — now why didn’t I think of that???

    Comment by Gloria | August 27, 2008 | Reply

  3. That reminds me of a quote I often see in the signatures of people’s emails:

    “Be kinder than necessary, you never know what the other person is going through.”

    I have to admit, I admire people who can keep it all together when frustration and the urge to throttle comes on strong. I hate to say it, but that’s an area God is probably still working on me on and sometimes I fear it will turn out to be a perpetual work in progress.

    Somehow, after the image that came to mind after Susan’s comment, I don’t think I will be able to look at a cookie cutter in quite the same way again.

    Comment by LisaB | August 27, 2008 | Reply

  4. good quote

    It can be a real challenge at times, then it surprises me how at other times it is not even an issue.

    Comment by Gloria | August 28, 2008 | Reply

  5. More Tales from the Dying Flesh? 😉

    Good blog! Thanks!

    Comment by Cherie Bell | August 28, 2008 | Reply

  6. “I die daily” has taken on an even deeper meaning to me. This living/staying in the truth is tough stuff. Maybe I should have waited until after menopause?? or maybe it is what will help me get through menopause?? Some days I sure want to say ‘done with this now, bring on the comfort food’ –sigh–

    Comment by Gloria | August 28, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

