Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

Be Still

I am always jotting down thoughts, a line or two from a book I am reading, something Curt preached on, or maybe a church sign that caught my eye.  Needless to say I have tons of little slips of paper.  The other day I began to sort through those papers. 

I ran across a slip of paper that I had jotted down ‘signature verse’.  This caused me to think about what verse would be my ‘signature verse’ for this time in my life.  (A signature verse – that verse that covers most everything that is going on at a particular time.  A verse to meditate on.)

My signature verse for this season of my life would be — “Be still and know that I am God…”  Psalm 46:10a  No matter what may be happening at this moment, God is God and He is in control.  I don’t begin to think that I can understand the why things happen question.   What I do  know is that “God is our refuge and strength, a very present help in trouble.”  (Psalm 46:1)  He has it all under control.  I can rest in that knowledge.

I have on my computer Psalm 46:10 written like this:

Be still and know that I am God.

Be still and know that I am.

Be still and know.

Be still.

Be.

So as I go through today I am reminding myself that I know God is with me.  He is in control. He knows what is ahead and He will help.  He sees the whole picture.  He knows how it will all fit together. 

I can be still, not stressed, anxious, worried, or even in a hurry (the hurry one is huge for me).  Instead, I will allow myself to be still and rest in the knowledge that He is God.  What freedom there is when I stop trying to figure things out.  Be still and know!! 

How about you??  What would your signature verse be?

til next time

September 2, 2008 - Posted by | just thinking about stuff, Pastor's wife, spiritual reflections | , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

