Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

Ray Boltz

After over 20 years in ministry I find that not much surprises me anymore.  Things still sadden me, but one thing I have observed is that people can find themselves somewhere that they never would have dreamt possible.  Secret sin is a boil waiting to fester and pop.  (I just couldn’t think of a better analogy) 

I had the radio on at work today when I heard the news about Ray Boltz.  At first I thought – surely they had to be making it up.  Then came the sadness – his wife of 33 years, his children, and all the people that will be disillusioned again as another prominent person gives in to sin.  Does it really matter what the sin is?  I think not, because sin is sin.  When a person embraces sin and even gives God credit for why they are in the sin, our response should be prayer.  

I’ve searched cyber space and there is quite a bit of discussion on this subject.  Talk about living in a fishbowl.  What must it be like for his family?  My prayers are with them.

I went to his web-site.  You can check it out.  http://www.rayboltz.com/    “A few years ago I made the decision to retire from contemporary Christian music. I had won awards, performed in front of thousands of people, and sold millions of records. Still, I believed that if people knew who I really was, I would never be accepted.”

 This is where I think the problem lies.  When people try to live up to others expectations they lose sight of who they are.   They lose sight of who God is.  They are pretending to have it all together and yet don’t know how to handle the sin.  They get more miserable as time goes on.  As my post from yesterday stated, “However, God loves us so much that He doesn’t leave us where we are at.  Throughout our lives He brings about change.”     

We look into His word and recognize the sin in our lives and the need for change.  The key is, that we have to allow God to change us.  If we want to hang on to whatever it is, God won’t pry it from us.  We choose to draw closer to God or to give in to the sin that is crouching at our door.  (Gen 4:6-7)

When I think of Ray Boltz I think of some of my all time favorite songs: The anchor holds, Thank you, What if I give all?, Watch the lamb, I pledge allegiance, and I will praise the Lord.   Will I stop singing these songs?  No, the songs haven’t changed.  The messages are still very powerful and true.  The song writer, he needs our prayers. 

 til next time

September 15, 2008 - Posted by | just thinking about stuff, living in a fish bowl | ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

