Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

day off

Friday is our day off from all jobs.  It is a good thing to have a day of rest.  Life is not a 50 yard dash but a life long marathon.

Last Friday we went hiking in the rain.  Got some great pics and the rain only made it that much more adventurous.  Check out the pics by clicking here.

This week the sun was shining and it was warm.  We went with Andrew on cycles to a neighboring town for lunch.  It was a great day for a ride!

 

Andrew had to work at 3:00.  However, he helped his dad load up the sailboat before he went to work.

Curt and I headed out to the lake.  It is a warm, sunny day.  This time the dog came with us.  She really is a people person dog and she loves to ride in the car/van.

Curt is sailing along while   Daisy and I find a comfy spot where we can sit and enjoy the beauty.  This time I picked a table as I had some writing I wanted to do.

 

The problem came when the wind died down.  It is kind of hard to sail without wind.                                      

 Reminded me again of the importance of having a day of rest.  It is hard to keep going, going, going, without running out of ‘wind’.  A day of rest refreshes and restores me as I allow God’s Spirit to minister to me through a day of quietness.   There is just something special about taking a whole day of rest.  It is a time to set aside all work and to slow down.  Maybe even smell the roses!   To not just see but enjoy the beauty that is all around us.

til next time  

September 20, 2008 - Posted by | just thinking about stuff, motorcycle, Pastor's wife | , , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. When there is no wind should we call it floating instead of sailing?

    Comment by cgirod | September 20, 2008 | Reply

  2. I am jealous…pray for me as I am still working on getting this “day of rest” concept to be more consistent in my life. This is one of the Lord’s commandments that my WASP upbringing doesn’t encourage…I always got more emphasis on the “six days shalt thou labor part” than on the sabbath concept. Still working on this one…

    Comment by Ruthie Oberg | September 20, 2008 | Reply

  3. Curt, yes floating is what it should be called. Wish I’d have gotten a picture of you with the oar and the sail.

    Ruthie, when Curt and I were first married a sabbath rest was not on his agenda. After much discussion, he decided to try it for a month. The rest as they say is history. He quickly saw the benefit.
    When I was working at the middle school my sabbath rest took a back seat. After getting this new job with Fridays off I was shocked at how hard it was to return to taking a sabbath rest. It was and at times is quite difficult. You are in my prayers.

    Comment by Gloria | September 20, 2008 | Reply

  4. Hello. I just wanted to say that I’ve started reading your blog and have found it to be encouraging. Thanks for writing.

    Comment by airtia | September 21, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

