Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

Grace

Grace.

What does Grace mean?  To some it is the prayer before meals.  … “Johnnie, please say grace.”  To others maybe it is the name of someone they know.  One of my friends loves the Grace Livingston Hill books.  Webster says Grace means unmerited Divine assistance. 

God’s grace – His assistance in our lives.  His help in whatever and wherever we find ourselves.

God gives to us the grace that is needed to do whatever it is He has called us to do.  This doesn’t mean it will be a piece of cake.  It does mean that we won’t have to muster up the strength and determination that one might think would be required.  After all we won’t be doing it in our own strength.  (Key thing to remember.)

For example, when our Children’s church leader moved on, I certainly did not want to add that to my plate.  I did what I recommend to people when seeking God’s direction.  I sought Godly council and I prayed about it.  Now I am talking ‘prayed’ about it.  Not the kind of prayer that is only seeking God to rubber stamp what I want.  Instead, to really be open to God leading me through a door I really didn’t want to go through.

I didn’t get an audible voice, but I did get a real sense of ‘this is what I am to do for this season’.  It never ceased to amaze me how God’s grace was so very tangible in helping me with children’s church.   Jump ahead a few years and I began to notice a change.  It took me a bit to put my finger on it, but it became apparent to me that it was time to step away from the children’s church department.   

Now I found myself arguing with God. ‘But who is going to do it?’  ‘What is the plan?’  ‘Do we have the children stay upstairs?’ ‘I’ll do it until somebody steps forward” — really does that ever happen?  Maybe, but I think not often.

It reached a point where I was mustering up all my determination and strength just to get through children’s church (and I love kids).  Yes, I do believe that we can do all things through Christ who strengthens us.  It does not mean that we are to do more than He calls us to do.   We are not to pile our plates high with commitments and then grumble because we have so much on our plate.  Do we really think this pleases God?? 

Finally I told Curt, “I’m done.  Even if it means that the kids have to stay upstairs during church.  I have to be done.  For whatever reason this is no longer where God wants me to be.”    It really made no sense to me, except that I knew the unforced rhythms of grace were lacking in this area.

Little did I know that God was speaking to another young lady.  He was placing a burden on her heart.  She just didn’t know what she was to do with it until I stepped down.  Yes, I do believe we can be in a position longer than God intends because we get comfortable or scared or even think it won’t go on without us. 

Grace.  God’s grace.  Grace that is greater than all our fears.  

I desire to be right where God wants me to be, doing what He wants me to do, and open to new possibilities and willing to lay down things and pick up new things as God, by His grace, reveals it to me.  This I believe is a life long learning process.

til next time

September 21, 2008 - Posted by | living in a fish bowl, Pastor's wife, spiritual reflections | ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

