Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

Power of music

I love music.  Music has a pull to it.  Have you ever been somewhere and a song comes on that immediately takes you back, even if just for a moment, to a different place and time?

When people are introduced to me, sometimes it causes them to break out into song.  Strange, I know, but it happens.  When someone starts singing “Gloria, I think I got your number, I think I got your alias that you’ve been living under….”  Takes me right back to where I was in the early 80’s.   “G-L-O-R-I-A Gloria!” takes me back to my childhood.  Childhood, no real responsibilities, hmmmm, “those were the days my friend”.

Or have you been feeling kind of yucky and a song comes on that just gets your feet a tapping?  Like the theme from Rocky.  It makes me want to start running up some stairs.   Music can pump you up.  Music has more power than some people give it credit for.

If you are having a bad day just go ahead and listen to some old sad song and see if you don’t end up feeling worse.

I think this is why praise music can be so very instrumental (for lack of a better word) in changing our atmosphere.  How can a person listen to  “How great is our God” and not be affected??  Feeling down?  Pop in a CD that lifts up the name of Jesus and the feeling will start to change.

My song to best describe my day would be “God is in control” by Twila Paris.

What would you say is your song for the day?

“Raindrops keep falling on my head?”  or

“What about me?”  or maybe “It’s all about me?”   or

“Sunshine go away today”  If you would pick any of these songs then I strongly encourage you to start singing a new song.  One that will have a positive affect on you.  Like say:

“This is the day”  or

“Oh, what a beautiful morning.” or

“Place in this world” or

“How beautiful” or

“It’s a happy day”

Or go ahead and use mine. — “God is in Control”

til next time

September 22, 2008 - Posted by | just thinking about stuff | ,

4 Comments »

  1. There is power in music because there is power in words. When I need a pick-me-up I like to turn on “Live For Today” by Natalie Grant.

    Praise and inspirational music always lifts the soul because it comes from God and God is joy.

    “I’m gonna live for today /I’m gonna follow in your way / I’m gonna let my little light shine / Like there’s no tomorrow..”

    Thanks for sharing

    Comment by airtia | September 23, 2008 | Reply

  2. Airtia, how very true. Thanks for adding that. Truly the Power of life and death are in the tongue.
    Love that song “Live for today”….. today is all we have.
    — joining Airtia in singing “I’m going live for today/ I’m gonnna follow in your way….

    I also love singing “I need a deeper life” by Natalie Grant.
    thanks for the encouraging words. I am heading back to work singing with you 🙂

    Comment by Gloria | September 23, 2008 | Reply

  3. I have a plaque over my piano that says “When words fail…music touches the heart.”

    Because I am one of those people who spontaneously breaks out in song at any given moment I have found it to be one of the greatest gifts that God chose to give us – and we can use if for good or harm just as His other gifts.

    Now…how do I convince you to come over to the country side of life???

    Comment by Ruthie Oberg | September 25, 2008 | Reply

  4. Ruthie, another person who breaks out into song — yahoo!!!
    Love the quote.
    Country – you mean like living in the country? LOL
    That’s as far as I go in being a country girl. 🙂

    Comment by Gloria | September 25, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

