Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

mountain top to valley

It does still shock me as to how quickly one can go from the mountain top to the valley below.  I happen to be watching a TV show last night where a guy fell off a cliff he was climbing.  Sometimes it can feel like that when life hits you in an unexpected way.

I’ve been on the top of mountains in Colorado – Way above the tree line.  It is gorgeous.  The view is like nothing else.  The journey to get there was another story.  For me, I had trust in the person driving the ATV.  As we all know what goes up must come down.  Going down was much worse.  The thing is though, you can’t live above the tree line.  Nothing grows there and that affects the oxygen levels. One must come down from the top to live.

In Christianity there is what is called “mountain top experiences”.  Those times where things just can’t possibly get any better.  Like Elijah and the prophets of baal.  He was at a high point in his life.  God had come down and set his altar a blaze.  (Read all about it in 1 Kings 18:17-40)  

But then…..

For Elijah, one woman set him to run in fear.  One woman, after he faced 450 prophets of baal.  One woman… and he found himself in the ‘valley’.

The Christian walk for me is all about learning, growing, experiencing the awesome power of God, handling life as it happens – moving forward, dealing with disappointments, all these things done at the feet of Jesus.  There are times though that I have found myself deep in the ‘valley’.   Where it seems that there is no moving forward.  Where everything is being shaken.  Where when the dust settles, all that is left is Jesus. 

I’ve talked with pastor’s wives who have battled great depression.  I think that is partially due to the fact that they live in a fishbowl.  After all who can they talk to??  Who can they express their inner fears to??  I think that it is so sad that only after the fact do they feel like they can open up about it.   But maybe that is because the ‘valley’ is all about the person and Jesus.  When I find myself deep in the ‘valley’  Jesus is the only one there.

As I am moving forward with d.t.t.f. I find myself in the ‘valley’ more.  I take comfort in the fact that it is in the ‘valley’ where growth happens.

til next time

October 4, 2008 - Posted by | living in a fish bowl, Pastor's wife | , ,

4 Comments »

  1. If growth is good, and if growth takes place in the valley, then valleys are good for us, even if they are not much fun.

    Comment by cgirod | October 6, 2008 | Reply

  2. I think you are one brave chica to persevere in dttf.

    I’m proud of you, G. And even more importantly…your sacrifice is pleasing to the Lord.

    Comment by Cherie Bell | October 6, 2008 | Reply

  3. Sometimes i wonder which is harder, being in the valley or climbing back up the mountain

    Comment by tonya | October 7, 2008 | Reply

  4. Yes, I agree Curt valleys are not much fun 😦 Oatmeal is good for us also, and I don’t like that very much either 🙂
    Cherie, brave — no. I know if I quit there will just come another day to start and I don’t want to start over.
    Tonya – great insight, hadn’t thought about that but I do think the climbing back up is the harder of the two.

    Comment by Gloria | October 7, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

