Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

simple things

I’ve not been blogging as much as usual.  It seems that my thoughts are running in all directions.  It’s just been easier to keep the curtains closed on the fishbowl, then to decide what to write about.  

I just read a blog by another pastor’s wife on the simple things.  It pulled my thoughts together and reminded me that it is up to me to choose to enjoy the simple things. 

The other night Curt suggested that we spend some time just vocalizing what we were thankful for.  It had been an extremely grueling day for me and at first I didn’t want to ‘play this game.’  I just wanted my headache to go away.  Ah, but as is his pattern, he did not give up and thus we did ‘play the game.’ 

The thing to be pointed out here is that even when you don’t feel like it, if you begin to verbalize the things that you are thankful for – it does impact not only your feelings, but the people around you.   Gratitude is catchy.  In the same way negativity is also contagious.  Oh, may I be a carrier of encouragement and not negativity.

Sara Groves sings this great song “Everyday miracles”.  We don’t need to look very far at all to see God’s fingerprints all over.    The problem comes when we focus on the problem instead of looking to the One who is the true problem solver – Jesus.

Thank You Lord for my many simple blessings.  To name just a few — I am thankful for a toilet that flushes. (Just ask Andrew what can happen!!!! yikes) I am thankful I was at the Dr. office -by the time I got home it was all cleaned up. – He now knows where the shut off valve is 🙂  I am thankful for a laundry room on the main floor.  I am even thankful that I get to pay bills tonight – which also makes me thankful for a man who believes in being a good steward of our money.   Say what you want about a budget, but I know that it keeps us accountable and that is a good thing.

til next time

October 7, 2008 - Posted by | just thinking about stuff, living in a fish bowl, Pastor's wife | , ,

4 Comments »

  1. God is good….
    I was very happy to see you blogging again. I know that it is one of the things that you enjoy. I also, am glad that I did not get home ysterday until after the mess was almost all cleaned up. Sorry Andrew.

    Comment by cgirod | October 8, 2008 | Reply

  2. Thanks for reminding us to be thankful for the simple things. Always enjoy reading what is going on in your fishbowl 😉

    Comment by Helene | October 8, 2008 | Reply

  3. Maybe the game is like what Paul was talking about when he mentioned the “sacrifice” of praise…sometimes it costs us to praise…and sometimes that cost is giving up our right to grouse.

    I love Sara Groves music…let’s start a petition to get her at the next WM Conference.

    Comment by Ruthie Oberg | October 8, 2008 | Reply

  4. Curt, poor Andrew
    Helene, thanks for stopping by.
    Ruthie, “giving up our right” Oh sometimes that can be really a challenge, but so worth it in the long run.
    I think that would be great to have Sara at the conference!

    Comment by Gloria | October 11, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

