Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

rocking horse or soap box??

I don’t serve a mamby pamby God or a frail God who I can/must order around, or a vending machine God that I put in my prayer and out pops what I want,  or a God who is unconcerned with my life or yours. 

NO, my God is greater than anything I face.  He has promised to be with me and He is able to do more than I can even dream. 

I refuse to put Him in a box.  I refuse to put Him on a shelf only to be taken down when I need something.

When something happens that I don’t understand, that’s where faith comes in.  God sees the whole picture, I only see the pieces of it.  It’s not a puzzle I put together.  God sees so much more than I see.

Sometimes things happen so that I will grow in:  patience, love, mercy, peace, trust, etc.   Sometimes things happen because of what God is doing in someones life and I get to be a part of it.  Sometimes things happen because we live in a fallen world.  Garden of Eden – this is not.  Sometimes things happen because ???  It may be impossible to figure it out.   My question is, why do we think we must have all the answers??  Why does it have to make sense to us?? 

Does anyone really think they can figure God out?  If so, then they have lost sight of the fact that God’s ways/thoughts are much greater than their ways/thoughts.  

I don’t begin to think that I have all the answers as to the whys.  I know that there are things I’d really rather not go through.   Which leads me to another rocking horse or soap box in my fishbowl.

Ever heard this: Christianity is for ‘cowards’??  Or  Christianity is ‘just a crutch’ ??  or Christianity is only for ‘weak people’?? Obviously people who say theses things have no clue what they are talking about.  To stand up for godly values in a world where wrong seems right is certainly not cowardly.  To go against the flow, to call sin – sin, to extend love to those who are unlovable, to offer mercy to someone who has caused you pain, to not retaliate or pay back,  to cease to do evil and learn to do good,  — none of this sounds cowardly to me.  To be a Christian and truly walk your talk takes more ‘guts’ than is ever required to just follow the pack. 

Now in the sense that I can do none of those things without Jesus help – then yes, He is my crutch.  In the sense that when I am weak His is strong — yes that is true.  However, this is not what is implied when I have been told those comments. 

Everywhere I look I see God’s fingerprints.  Sometimes it is in totally amazing things –like Andrew just happened to be jogging late at night when the vehicle (that a month before had hit and run his truck – the police held out no hope of finding him) happened to be making a turn right in front of him.  Then the fact that the driver admitted it and was only insured for that month.  How cool is that!!!!  Thank you God! 

God’s fingerprints are all around us.  He desires to be a part of our everyday life.  I wouldn’t have it any other way.

til next time.

October 13, 2008 Posted by | just thinking about stuff, living in a fish bowl, Pastor's wife, relationships | , | 3 Comments