Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

hymns

Awhile back Curt and I went to a conference for pastor’s.  It was great and I did blog about it, check it out here if you want.  There seemed to be a consensus at the conference with the various speakers that hymns were out.  In fact one speaker said that he doesn’t use any choruses that are over 15 years old.  My first thought was ‘wow really??’  

That was indeed cause for some thought.  I am all about bringing in new music.  I also think there is a place for the music that is tried and true.  For me personally it is much easier to flow freely into worship with a song that I know from memory instead of having to pay attention to the screen.  

At our church I put together the song list for Sunday morning and evening.  I am blessed to have someone else pull the music and put away the music.   That became real difficult to stay on top of when I started working a second job.  (TS – I appreciate it more than words can say – thank you)  So all of this talk of what was antique and what was cutting edge had my attention.

At our church we have a wide age range from Thomas who is not a year old to Opal who just turned 97.  I talked with a few people about the idea of throwing out the hymns.  Generally we do one hymn per Sunday.  There are times we don’t do any but to do away with them altogether??  This idea was not well received. 

So this got me to thinking is this really what people want? 

Is there still a place for hymns in the church today?   

Certainly I want to be up with the times.   Is the cutting edge really to throw out all hymns and sing only songs written in the last 15 years?   This past Sunday night we sang a bunch of old choruses.   We ended with “Thou art worthy”.    That is an old old chorus.  I sang that when I was a kid.  Now back then we didn’t have drums, trumpet, bass, electric acoustic and lead guitar so I guess what we did could be called a re-make.  🙂   What it really was – was meaningful. 

While listening to the radio today I heard Joni Erickson Tada talking about a new book that she has co-written entitled “Hymns for a kids heart”.  I guess she hasn’t gotten the memo — LOL.

So hymns? or no hymns?  just recent choruses?  or a mixture of old and new?  What do you think?

As for me, I think I’ll break out into song — an old song —  “As the deer”   singing……….”You alone are my rock, my shield, To You alone may my spirit yield….”

til next time

October 20, 2008 - Posted by | just thinking about stuff | , , ,

5 Comments »

  1. Even old songs are new if you haven’t heard them before.

    Comment by cgirod | October 21, 2008 | Reply

  2. I may be old fashioned, but I love the hymns. There is so much wisdom in hymns. Don’t get me wrong I like to learn new songs and they have a lot of praise and worship in them. A week ago on a Sunday evening our church had a all night Hymn sing. What a great service. My kids needed a song book to sing from, but I knew all the great songs by memory. Boy, did it bring back my childhood singing the old Hymns.

    Comment by Sis | October 21, 2008 | Reply

  3. I will say there are a lot of Hymns that are close to my heart. Sometimes you will pull one out of the archives that I’ve never heard before which throws me for a loop. Especially when it’s my turn to sing. Trying to sing a song that you don’t know into a mic… not good.! But I say no way to throwing out the Hymns. Thats like throwing out history. I say give me that “old time religion”, If it was good for our mothers, then it’s good enough for me.;)
    New songs are great but the old Hymns can’t be beat.
    Plus it’s not as if by changing up the songs your changing up God. After all he is the same God that people have been worshiping with hymns for years now. I’m sure he has his favorites too 😉 Why take that away?

    Comment by tjalexander | October 21, 2008 | Reply

  4. this is a post I got on facebook, thought I’d share it:
    [Al H. October 21
    Awesome post. I find myself quoting the lyrics from old hymns more often than singing them but when the team does one it touches the hearts across the generations because for the older people it brings back wonderful memories of times with old and for the newer Christians the hymns are new songs. Last Sunday we melted into the old hymn “Rock of Ages” from the contemporary chorus of the same name. It impacted us greatly.]

    Curt – good point

    Sis – hey loved the comment — what did your kids think?

    Tonya – will try to not throw in new hymns, (is there such a thing as ‘new hymns’ lol). Would love to know what God’s top 20 song list would be.

    Comment by Gloria | October 24, 2008 | Reply

  5. I have a hard time knowing how to comment on this one…let’s just say I have been “wounded” in the worship wars over the whole hymn/modern praise issue.

    What I do not understand is how we in the body of Christ have allowed this beautiful gift from God (worship through music) to divide us rather than unite us. Think about it…music unites people like few other things. Picture a group of people joining together in one song, add some harmony so that each individual can still express diversity…each voice lifted in one common thought.

    And yet…this very thing (music) that was given to unite us seems to divide us just as easily…churches, families, friends, etc.

    This is getting long…perhaps I should just write my own blog…LOL

    Comment by Ruthie Oberg | November 1, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

