Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

Breaking the stereotype

For four years I worked as a para-educator.  I get a kick out of the title.  It sounds so grand.  I was a teacher’s classroom aide, but that just doesn’t have the same ring to it.  The problem is when you tell people para-educator they usually don’t have a clue what that is.  So I dropped the title.

I moved from class to class and dealt with 6, 7, and 8th grade kids – mostly special ed kids and kids with behavior problems.  There were lots of opportunities to show the love of God.   Many of those kids had horrible home situations and trust was a real issue to them. 

I’ve been gone a couple of years now but I still see my kids around town.  Today one came in to my work place.  He had grown about 8 inches. 

Middle school was a great place to work, but it was also very demanding.  I would go home at the end of the day and be totally drained.  It broke my heart to see and hear what some of our youth of today are going through and facing.    

While I was working at the middle school, the 8th grade language arts teacher would have the class interview me during the spring.  The topic was “breaking the stereotype”.  First she  would ask the kids what they thought of when they thought of a Pastor or a Pastor’s wife?  I must say the only positive thing said was “Spends a lot of time at church.”  (Some of their responses really saddened me)  Then she would introduce me.  Since I did not go around telling the kids that I was one, many didn’t know it.  Let’s just say there was some interesting discussion that followed.   They had some great questions.

All year they had watched me in various situations like how I handled bully’s, obnoxious kids, timid kids,  kids who were struggling.   They couldn’t pull any ‘punches’ with me.  If I said something I followed through with it.  Yet, they knew I cared for them and they knew I prayed for them.   Forever  they will have a different picture of what a Pastor and a Pastor’s wife is.  I hope that they will look at God differently also.

Being a christian is exciting!  I’m glad that I am not viewed as a stuffy, old, mean lady.  Instead I am known as a woman who loves God and cares for people.  People matter.  Kids matter. 

til next time

October 28, 2008 - Posted by | living in a fish bowl, Pastor's wife | , , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. Love God, love people, and don’t do anything stupid. Remember that advice?

    Comment by cgirod | October 29, 2008 | Reply

  2. Wow…great observation. I have noticed a subtle change in people from before/after they have that knowledge of “pastor’s wife.” I have come to the place that I usually don’t share that with people unless there is some need to do so. It allows me to meet them at the place where they are and just make friends and show Jesus’ love because I can…rather than because it is expected.

    Comment by Ruthie Oberg | November 1, 2008 | Reply

  3. Curt – yes I do 🙂
    Ruthie – I also don’t volunteer that information. Although many times the people with me do.

    Comment by Gloria | November 1, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

