Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

short and to the point

“Lord, give me the grace to hear, to understand, to bear fruit.”   (Sharon Rusch)

the grace to hear – it can be easy to not really hear what someone is saying.  Oh, may God help us to listen.  I know that when I am multi tasking and one of my sons starts to talk to me, I really need to stop what I am doing and give him my attention.  Otherwise, I only catch part of it.  There is nothing more frustrating than to realize that someone is not really listening to you. 

the grace to understand – if we are not careful it is easy to jump to a conclusion that is far far from the truth.  — walk a mile in my mocassins and then we can talk.  Or at least be willing to listen first.

the grace to bear fruit — sometimes we must be pruned in order to produce abundantly.  dttf (die to the flesh) is all part of bearing fruit.  Just accept that this can be painful and keep moving forward.  Too much effort is wasted on whining.  Whining keeps you from moving on.

Lord, give me the grace to hear, to understand, to bear fruit.  One of the ladies at work created this collection of pictures that she attached to an old window frame.  It was the story of the sower who went out to plant the seed.  It is a great picture.  She put this quote in one of the sections of the window.

short and to the point

til next time

October 29, 2008 - Posted by | just thinking about stuff, spiritual reflections | , ,

1 Comment »

  1. To hear, to understand, and to bear fruit; sounds like a sermon outline to me!

    Comment by cgirod | October 30, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

