Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

dandelions

Dandelions are weeds that spring up all over the place – unless you spray for them.  As a kid, my friends and I loved dandelions.  Do you like butter?  Here let me check.  Do you like ‘Robby’?  Here let me check.  And on and on it goes.  Then the dandelion would morph into my favorite part of the flower.

dandylion1

Oh, how we loved to run around picking them, blowing on them, and watching them float.  Little did we know that we were in fact spreading their seeds everywhere.  We just knew that it was pure joy to watch them take flight. 

I can still see us dancing around the backyard.  Ok so maybe I would still dance around the backyard with any small child – if only we could find a dandelion ready for flight.  **sigh**

I’m an adult now and peer pressure has taken over (green yard good, yellow yard bad – yellow yard gone to seed really bad).  Yet there are still times that I catch myself picking one and watching the flight.  Ahhhhh… happy sigh.

til next time

November 12, 2008 - Posted by | just thinking about stuff | , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Did you ever hunt for the longer stemmed ones to try to braid together into a wreath like a little crown? I can remember making attempts. It was fun, even if my crowns usually did end up breaking or falling apart about a quarter of the way into the round. It’s amazing how tenatious (sp?) those weeds are despite all the picking, plucking off of flower heads, digging, and tromping they’re bound to endure.

    I seem to remember commenting at one point earlier this year that the dandelions didn’t seem to be as prevalent this year along the roadsides and everywhere as I remember them being in the past. Whomever I was talking to had a response like “I hand’t really thought about it, but now that you mention it…”

    Has anybody else noticed that there weren’t as many this year?

    Comment by LisaB | November 13, 2008 | Reply

  2. Lisa, I forgot all about that. Oh, what fantastic crowns we would make – that is until they fell apart. LOL good times.
    I know that we sprayed at the church early this year so that helped curb the amount there, hadn’t noticed it too much otherwise.

    Comment by Gloria | November 13, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

