Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

the place prayer has in my life

Thinking about the place prayer has in my life.  

Before I get out of bed – I pray.  It is surprising to me sometimes the things I will pray about early in the morning.  I do think it may even cause God to chuckle.  On those mornings when, for whatever reason, I don’t take time to pray – it is evident to me.  Talking with God first thing, for me, opens up communication for the rest of the day. 

My brothers and sister are 10, 12, and 14 years older than me.  So when I was 7 they had all moved out.  I begged mom and dad to let me sleep downstairs.  When finally they let me, I found out that it was kind of scary down there by myself.  It was then that I decided to talk to God as I tried to go to sleep.  So each night I would fall asleep talking to God.  I highly recommend it.  Some nights it is a rather lengthy prayer, but most nights it doesn’t take long and I am a sleep.

 Praying scripture is huge for me.  These are some of my favorites that I will use occasionally.  

“Lord, fill me with the knowledge of Your will in all wisdom and spiritual understanding — that I might walk worthy of You and please You, being fruitful in every good work and increasing in the knowledge of You; and that I might be strengthened with all might, according to Your glorious power, being patient and perservering with joyfulness.”   (Col 1:9-11)

“Lord help me to be quick to listen, slow to speak and slow to become angry.”  (James 1:19)

 “Lord You have given me this day.  I will choose to rejoice and be glad.”  (Psalms 118:24)

“O God help me, Let the words of my mouth and the meditations of my heart be pleasing in Your sight, O Lord, You are my Rock and my Redeemer.”  (Psalms 19:14)

I also find it very beneficial to cease talking and just be silent before God –  to just be quiet.  “Be still and know that I am God.”   (Psalm 46:10)

One of the things that I just love about riding the motorcycle is all that time with just the sound of the bike rolling down the road and being still before God.  It is peaceful and very refreshing. 

If it’s been awhile since you have quieted yourself before God. I encourage you to fit it into your schedule. 

Prayer – it is huge in my life. 

til next time

November 18, 2008 - Posted by | living in a fish bowl, Pastor's wife, spiritual reflections | , , ,

5 Comments »

  1. Great verses for memorization and meditation!

    Comment by Pastor Curt | November 19, 2008 | Reply

  2. Everything else aside…I’m just so proud of you for getting something posted so often!!!

    Makes me look forward to the “empty nest”…wait, you still have one at home don’t you?

    Comment by Ruthie Oberg | November 21, 2008 | Reply

  3. yup, Andrew is still home, although I don’t see him much, mostly the trail he leaves behind 🙂

    I have found blogging to be a stress releaser actually. So I guess one could say that I’m under a bit of stress since I post often. 🙂

    Comment by Gloria | November 21, 2008 | Reply

  4. Ok…let me get this straight…you think God can actually hear you when you’re riding the motorcycle. This is finally starting to make a little more sense…

    I thought it was like flying, where…as everyone knows…it’s the only place that good Christians are invisible to God…
    ^ ^
    o o
    v
    O

    Comment by Cherie Bell | November 22, 2008 | Reply

  5. Cherie – yes, He does hear us on the motorcycle and even on airplanes. You crack me up. 🙂

    Comment by Gloria | November 22, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

