Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

thankful or selfish

Tomorrow is Thanksgiving.  A time set aside to reflect on the things one is thankful for.   I’ve heard it said many times, “We should be thankful, not just one day a year but all year.”  I agree.   An attitude of gratitude is priceless. 

As I think about it, it is quite hard to be selfish if one is being thankful.  The flip side is also true.  It is hard to be thankful if one is being selfish.  When I am thankful, I am pretty much in a state of contentment.  When I am not thankful, selfishness is right on my heels. 

This does make me think of a song that is quite selfish in my opinion.

Whoever said music is just music was wrong.  First off, we memorize easily when something is put to music.  That’s one reason commericals have a little tune.  singing * Oh, I wish I was an Oscar Meyer wiener, that is what I’d truly like to be.  Cuz if……*    You wanted to finish it right.  🙂  Oh, what about *My bologna has a first name it’s …….*          I remember songs, word for word, that I haven’t heard for years.  Here’s one *I’m leaving on a jet plane, don’t know when…*    or this one      *It’s the eye of the tiger, it’s the….*   Or let’s go back farther, *I’m so dizzy my head is spinnin’, like a whirlpool…..*     Now I’m on a roll   *Please Mister Postman look and see if……*  or this one  *I met him at the candy store, he turned around and smiled at me, you get the picture?  Yes, we see. That’s when I fell for the…..*   ok last one   * come and listen to my story about a man named Jed, a poor mountaineer barely…..*

So you see, music does stick with us.  It gets into our head and stays there.  So what we listen to is important.  Ah, but that is another blog.

(oops, getting back to the selfish song – I do seem to get side tracked these days)  While I was working at IM, my co-worker (who loved country)  would always have the radio tuned to country.  Have I mentioned that I do not like country??   Now when she was gone, ahh, you know that radio was not on country anymore.  It was flipped to the Christian station.  Singing  *I will trust You Lord, when I don’t know why.  I will trust You Lord, til the day I die…..* 

So anyway, there is this country song that occassionaly runs through my head.  ugh!!!! (Thank you Cheryl)  *What about me, What about I, What about my….*    Now either the relationship he is in is just a one way street and all about her – in which case then he needs to wake up – or he just wants it to be about him.  I really don’t like this song, but the radio station sure played it a lot.

Thankful or selfish??  It’s pretty difficult, if not impossible, to be both. 

So I remind myself that I have much to be thankful for.  God has indeed blessed me with many things, too numerous to mention.  There’s a blog I read regularly and in one post, she talked about giving her husband a list of 100 things she liked about him. (check it out here)  Wow, I love that.  Great marital advice.  Focusing in a huge way on the positive.  Being thankful.  We could all benefit by writing down 100 things we are thankful for. 

til next time

November 26, 2008 - Posted by | just thinking about stuff, Pastor's wife | , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Thankful=content, selfish=discontent, I would also rather be thankful, and content.

    Comment by Pastor Curt | November 27, 2008 | Reply

  2. […] Music is such a powerful source.  I have heard it said ‘music soothes the savage beast’.  Music soothes period.  (Well, I guess that would depend on what type of music you listen to)  If your music isn’t soothing you or encouraging you than prehaps you are listening to the wrong music.  Just a thought.    Click here to read my earlier post on power of music.    […]

    Pingback by knees - surrender?? « Living Life in a Fish Bowl! | December 4, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

