Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

black friday

So black Friday is tomorrow.  There will be people getting up real early to go fight for the 10 or maybe 15 items of that one thing that they just have to have.  People can really get crazy.  There are probably people already waiting in front of some stores.  Now we have been to stores before they open, but only by 10 -15 minutes. 

I love to shop.  I even love shopping on Black Friday.  It is great fun!!!  I love to people watch and I am not disappointed ever on the day after Thanksgiving.  Some people dress just for the joy of having people comment and stare, maybe even laugh – with them of course :-).  I have very few stories of people being nasty.  In fact for us, while waiting in lines that wind around the store, we have the most interesting conversations with people we will never see again.  No point being in a hurry at that point.  It is just going to take time to get to the check out.

I think I am beginning to show my age.  I remember when we (my sister, mom, niece and I) would strategize as to what time we were getting up to be at the store before it opened.  We would have our lists made out and it was pretty much down to a science.  It was nothing short of a marathon.  By 8:00 a.m. we would be exhausted and need to stop for breakfast to regroup.  Oh, we weren’t down by any stretch.  We just needed a nourishment break.  A couple of Dr. Peppers and I was good to go.

So this year, my in-laws had an accident on the way to my sister-in-laws for the holidays and are in the hospital.  Mom has a broken leg and finger.  Dad is bruised up from the air bag.  He was to get out today, but he is starting to complain of pain.  So they are keeping him another night.  This has put a bit of a damper on the festivities.  Hopefully they will both get out tomorrow.   

Yes, I am still getting up before dawn.  This is the one day a year that I seem to have no problem doing that.  However, I have no strategy.  I’m not sure if it is a pre-menopausal thing, in-laws in the hospital, drama, or maybe the fact that I can’t think of one thing I need, but it doesn’t matter to me where we go.  Shopping for me is really more about who I am with and the memories that are made.  I plan to do a bunch of people watching and of course I will scout for those deals of the year.   

If you are going to brave the crowds, I hope that it is a good experience for you.  If you are not a die hard shopper my advice to you would be to wait until after lunch or maybe even til Saturday.  Black Friday is not for the faint of heart.  🙂

til next time

November 27, 2008 - Posted by | just thinking about stuff, perimenopause | ,

3 Comments »

  1. While shopping on Black Friday for Christmas gifts you need to be ready for accidents. If you get struck by a bullet, arrow, knife, stick, or sword you are likely to have a “penetrating” injury. If one of these items lodge in a vital area of your body (the trunk or eye) removing them may make the problem worse causing you to “bleed out”. If you are not comfortable removing the item yourself, you should find one of the available clerks (as they are trained to do this). If it is your scalp that gets injured (get scalped) you will need to take additional steps to prevent bleeding out. The scalp, if struck directly will bleed profusely. If you get “scalped” while shopping you will not likely survive. Be safe and be ready to help a fellow shopper if they get injured.

    Comment by catchthespindan | November 27, 2008 | Reply

  2. I am glad that you have someone to go shopping on Black Friday with besides me!

    Comment by Pastor Curt | November 28, 2008 | Reply

  3. catchthespin – hey thanks for the ‘heads up’, so far so good but we are heading back out. We will be on the alert.

    Pastor Curt yes it is a wonderful thing to go shopping with people who actually enjoy the ‘art of shopping’. LOL

    Comment by Gloria | November 28, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

