Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

snow

I realize that winter hasn’t truly arrived yet.  However, once snow starts sticking, it is winter to me.  We found ourselves on treacherous roads coming home from Thanksgiving.  I really don’t like to be out when cars are going in the ditch and we are passing accidents. 

We had a choice to make.  We could continue or we could hold up in a motel.  I voted for that option.  The problem was that Andrew needed to be at his first class on Monday – to sit in on the study review.   Curt is a very good driver.  Yet I found myself wearing out the passenger side brake.  I am surprised my feet didn’t go through the floor board. 

At one point this yahoo was entering onto the highway and he had to see that all the cars were moving slowly.  Curt opted to not get over; it is good to do as little lane changes as possible.  The fact was, there was plenty of room for the car to pull in behind us.  Well, apparently he didn’t like that idea.  (I say he because in my observations guys are much more risk takers than girls.)  So he goes to pick up speed to pull in front of us and promptly slides right across the road (behind us) and into the ditch facing the other direction.  Now wasn’t he glad that he was in such a hurry???  I am grateful that he didn’t hit us or anyone else.

I loved snow days when the boys were in school.  It was great even after I went to work at the school.  Ah, nothing like a snow day.  🙂  Now with my job, I am less than 2 blocks away so no excuse for not making it.  😦  No more snow days for me 😦

Snow, it looks so pretty from inside.  I love the way it glistens as it falls past the street lights.  Ah, if only it would not pack and get slippery.  I did tell Curt that I don’t think we moved far enough south.  Maybe it is my age, pre-menopausal thing, or just that today I wasn’t feeling real great, but I am not ready for snow.     fireplace1

Ready or not…… here it comes.  We are in a winter snow advisory.  The season has changed.

Now having a fire going in the morning when I get up is a real benefit to the season changing.  I do love our fireplace.  

til next time

December 2, 2008 - Posted by | just thinking about stuff, perimenopause | , , ,

5 Comments »

  1. Being able to stay inside with a fire going, on a snowy evening is a nice thing. Having to go out, not so nice.

    Comment by Pastor Curt | December 3, 2008 | Reply

  2. Oh, the mixed emotions of middle age! Lord, I’m not happy with this beautiful snow!

    Yep.

    Tom is driving to Davenport and then to Lowden today. Say prayers, if you think of it!

    Thanks!

    Comment by Cherie Bell | December 3, 2008 | Reply

  3. Curt, so true
    Cherie, praying for Tom. Yikes, we cancelled Bible study tonight. Got about 4 inches of light snow and the wind is to pick up. Not a good night to be out.

    Comment by Gloria | December 3, 2008 | Reply

  4. Tom got home tired from hard driving but safe and sound…thanks for the prayers!

    Comment by Cherie Bell | December 4, 2008 | Reply

  5. There is really nothing to compare to ‘hard driving’ in snowy, icy conditions. Glad to hear he made it home. To think the winter has only just begun…. :p

    Comment by Gloria | December 4, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

