Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

bail out

Now the auto industry is wanting a bail out.  Latest I heard is that they may be getting a band aid, not a bail out.   Should they get anything?  Should they get more?  Some are saying ‘if we don’t do something, they may no longer exist’.   What would that look like?  How many jobs would that affect?  I can’t even wrap my head around how  that would trickle down and what effect it would have.

It does make me wonder what is in store for us in the coming year.  The biggest problem that I see (in my small section of the world) is that people are not living within their means.  So many have existed on ‘buy now, pay later’  and living from paycheck to paycheck, that the idea of even having a savings is a foreign concept to them.

A long time ago I heard a ‘formula’ that I really liked.  Tithe 10%, save 10%, and live off of the other 80%.   As you may have read in other blogs of mine, I do hold strongly to tithing.  It’s all God’s anyway, but tithing is my way of reminding myself of  Who I trust.  

Tonight at a gathering I was at, one of the pastor’s made a comment along the lines of,  – we need to trim where we can but not succumb to being stingy and to not let fear guide us.  

For me, little has really changed.  God is still God.   He is still in control.   I will not be ruled by fear.  Now I have looked much closer at purchases.  The whole ‘need’ vs ‘want’.   I’ve done more thinking lately about ‘storing up my treasures in heaven.’   Do I really need a new t.v.??  (Andrew would say ‘YES!” )  However, the old one still works which makes it a ‘want’.

til next time

December 8, 2008 - Posted by | just thinking about stuff, Pastor's wife | , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. I love it that you and PC are such solid examples of fiscal responsibility! It’s getting harder and harder to find those kinds of heroes.

    Love this…”we need to trim where we can but not succumb to being stingy and to not let fear guide us.”

    Without minimizing real problems that face our nation as a whole AND the individuals and families (who will likely face unemployment while the recession plays out)…we have a media that loves to inspire fear and uncertainty. It IS a blessing to know that the Lord is the opposite of that.

    It was the last recession…the one in the early ’80’s…that changed the way Tom and I look at money and debt…and like you, solidified our commitment to tithe and save. We realized that we couldn’t afford NOT to.

    Love this post!

    Comment by Cherie Bell | December 9, 2008 | Reply

  2. This blog is music to my ears. My work here (in this area of finances)is done:)

    Comment by Pastor Curt | December 9, 2008 | Reply

  3. Is the tv still going to work after the digital switch? Is that what Andrew might be thinking of when he says “yes”? Of course, if that’s the case, you might just need the converter box and not the tv necessarily. Of course, if it’s a tv like ours…you might still need one if you wish to continue to be able to watch any programming.

    We got a new vcr (courtesy of a gift certificate from Husco. Thank you Husco!) to replace our kaputzed collection of vcr’s (yes, even the cumbersome blessing we found at the church auction has konked out on us now) and when Steve went to hook it up he discovered our tv is too old to hook it up to. A converter box and some other conversion doohicky added to the equation later and…we still can’t hook it up.

    So, has Andrew by chance been looking into the whole switchover thing maybe and discovered something you might not be aware of yet…or is he just really trying hard to get a new tv into the house?

    Comment by LisaB | December 9, 2008 | Reply

  4. thanks Cherie
    Curt – you are toooo funny 🙂
    Lisa – Andrew just wants a flat screen – wide screen t.v. A couple years ago Andrew really wanted dish network, so he signed up for it and has made the monthly payments. We just happen to get to reap the benefit also. 🙂

    Comment by Gloria | December 9, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

