Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

while I was busy

Life and death happen while I am running around making other plans.  I have been guilty of rushing around doing this, that, and 12 other things while not enjoying any of them.  Life is happening all around me and for all it’s worth, I sometimes miss out.

I have also been guilty of trying to do more things than I have time for and not doing what’s most important.  Then death happens and I am hit with the reality that there are no more phone calls, no more conversations, no more time for me to be a friend.   There isn’t another chance to say “I love you, you matter to me, I will cherish the memories of us.”

I got home from church today to get the news that my dearest childhood friend, who so bravely fought the fight against cancer, died this morning.  I won’t get that chance to return her last phone call.  It’s over.  It doesn’t matter if I have time now or not.

I can’t live in that place called regret.   It is so very unhealthy.  The family is in my prayers.  I will be forever grateful for the conversation we had, the memories that I keep in my heart.    However, it is a huge lesson for me.  One I would have thought I already knew from being in ministry.  One I guess I have forgotten along the way.

Keep the important things at the top of the list.  Do I send flowers now??  Why didn’t I send flowers or something crazy before??   Now I think of all the things I could have done that would have been cause for laughter.   Ah, the painful lessons we learn.

What’s important??  People are more important than things period.   Now I think of all those things that just had to get done.  Yet returning her last phone call trumps most of them.  

The older I get the more I will experience death of people I care for.  It is a part of  life, of growing older.  A dear friend of mine who is pushing 100 says that is one of the most difficult things about growing old (burying people you love).  Yet she is a grand example of how God comforts us in our time of grief. 

til next time

December 14, 2008 - Posted by | life lessons, Pastor's wife, relationships | , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Oh, sweetie. I’m so, so sorry to hear about your friend. I know she knew that you loved her, even w/out that last phone call. I will pray for her family…and for you. Take care.

    Comment by Cherie Bell | December 14, 2008 | Reply

  2. *HUGS* I’m so sorry for your loss. I hate that I only know the same old cliche’s to offer as words of comfort and encouragement. They’re well meant, but so often they just seem so empty anyway. Instead I’ll just try not to butcher one of the scriptures I so often find comforting when I’m sad over something (forgive me for not looking it up exactly, I can’t even remember for sure if it’s from psalms or proverbs)

    “Weeping endures for the night, but joy comes in the morning.”

    I hope it’s a short night for you and your friend’s loved ones.

    Comment by LisaB | December 15, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

