Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

proselytize – um ??

Have you heard of Penn?  I have no idea who this guy is, but I do know that he is an atheist by his own confession.   I get the impression that he is not afraid to speak his mind.  What intrigued me was the impact that one small gesture had on him.

This is a portion of his talk that really spoke to me.

“If you believe in heaven and hell and people could be going to hell…….how much do you have to hate somebody  to not proselytize?  How much do you have to hate somebody to  believe that everlasting life is possible and not tell them?”

Proselytize is not a word that I use in my daily language.   Proselytize – to convert, or attempt to convert or recruit,  i.e.  sharing my faith 🙂  Reminds me of an old children’s song “… hide it under a bushel, no I’m gonna let is shine…..”

He goes on to use the example that if a truck was bearing down on someone who didn’t believe it was, that there comes a point when he would tackle the person and this (proselytizing) is more important than that.

Where I don’t believe that shoving religion/relationship/christianity/ down someones throat is the way to go.  We are still commanded to “Go into all the world and preach the gospel.”  We are told to be a witness.  (Be – a state of being  — to exist or live).   That our life may be an example of what it means to follow Christ.   To let others see inside our fishbowl and as they do that they see the real deal not something fake.

Penn stated – to not speak up, to not share what in our hearts we know to be truth would be hate.  

Something to think about.

til next time 

December 22, 2008 - Posted by | living in a fish bowl, relationships, spiritual reflections | , , , , , , , , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. Penn was impressed with how it was done, and agrees that it should be done. May God help us to have the courage to share, and the wisdom to share the gospel well.

    Comment by Pastor Curt | December 23, 2008 | Reply

  2. I share the sentiment that, if you are firm in your convictions and know that there is only one straight path and all other paths are misguidance and all forms of misguidance are in the fire – than it is your responsibility to invite people to that which will save them from certain destruction.

    With that said, I am a Muslim and I invite you to accept Islam for your salvation 🙂

    Comment by ummadam | December 27, 2008 | Reply

  3. ummadam, thanks for stopping by and commenting
    I understand that as a Muslim you accept Jesus as a prophet. To me He is the Son of God sent to save the world. It is my prayer that one day you may see this. I do appreciate the sincerity of your invitation.

    Comment by Gloria | December 27, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

