Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

where they know my name

 “Where everybody knows your name.”  (remember the theme song from ‘Cheers’?)   There is nothing quite like getting together with people who know you.  Well, that is people who know you and love you anyway.  🙂 

I love to get together with a particular group of people.  These people are fabulous.  They make me laugh.    This group knows my name. 

They’ve seen me at my best and they’ve seen me as I struggle.  We are on this journey of life together supporting  one another.   It is a place where there is an abundance of care and love.  A place where you can be  a real jerk and later come back and find that love is still abundant.   You see this group of people realizes that no one is perfect and we all need grace.

This is better than a 12 step program.  It is here that I am truly accepted for who I am and where I am at.  I cry with those who cry and laugh with those who laugh.  Laughter is contagious!!   

church-with-frameWhere is this place? 

I’m talking about my church ‘family’.   Church where everybody knows my name.  Church where I join others in bowing before the King of Kings.  Church where God’s presence washes over me, refreshing and restoring my life. 

On any given Sunday we will laugh much.  We do enjoy ourselves.   It isn’t all about laughter though.  We are challenged to grow, to learn, and to change.  We are reminded that God has a plan and a purpose.   God is in control.  God is good.  All the time.

Church should not be endured but embraced.   It  should be an extension of your walk with God.  I don’t ‘have’ to go I ‘get’ to go.  (big difference) 

Whether it is during worship, prayer time or the sermon, God touches my life in a way that is different from my personal quiet time with God.   Sure I can be a christian and not go to church, but why would I want to do that?  Getting together with God’s people is a valuable asset to my walk with God. 

I am grateful that I live in a country where I can freely gather with others to worship God.  My heart goes out to those who see church as a drudgery or boring.  As in my personal life, so with my church family, serving God is exciting.  

til next time

December 26, 2008 - Posted by | Pastor's wife, relationships, spiritual reflections | , , , , , , , ,

7 Comments »

  1. I think that’s awesome you found a place like that. Having a big supportive community, no matter if its church, 12 step, etc. is very helpful and fulfilling. We all have different things we like better, and I guess it’s better that way, so we can explore this great world.

    Comment by mikewalzman | December 26, 2008 | Reply

  2. Mike, it is infact a great world that we live in and yet at times so very small. I’ve been at a gathering that was overflowing with people and still felt so very all alone. Connecting with people, having that supportive community is hugely important. Church though isn’t just about me. It is also about being a part of something that reaches out to help strangers. Makes one aware of how big our world is.
    thanks for commenting

    Comment by Gloria | December 27, 2008 | Reply

  3. hey your write up is wonderful and your site is inviting.how can i make mine to be like yours?

    Comment by odafe1 | December 27, 2008 | Reply

  4. What a wonderful testimonial to a sincere individual’s faith

    Comment by tasithoughts | December 27, 2008 | Reply

  5. odafe1 – thanks for the compliment. Go to wordpress.com I use andreas04 and add widgets.

    tasithoughts, thanks

    Comment by Gloria | December 27, 2008 | Reply

  6. we do love you and we learn from each others love, growth, mistakes and even blogs. i just wish that more people would have the same loving experience with other believers that we do.

    Comment by sue rogis | December 28, 2008 | Reply

  7. Sue, thanks for commenting – I missed you today!! It does sadden me when I hear of how others are treated at some churches. That is not how it should be and certainly not how God would want it. I am so grateful that God’s love flows through our church family.

    Comment by Gloria | December 28, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

