Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

food issues – gluttony??

Many people made resolutions concerning food.  By now many of those resolutions are broken.  How do I know this??  I used to be one of those people that made resolutions.  I was going to eat healthy, lose 20 pounds, get in shape etc.  Like one day is going to make this huge difference. 

It’s like a diet can’t start until Monday (or whatever day you have stuck in your head).  Therefore if it is Wednesday and I am even considering a diet, well it can’t start til Monday so that means I have a few days to really eat.  The logic behind that is that when I step on the scale it will  be a bit heavier from those extra days of eating and so I will see a nice drop that first week.  Sounds absolutely crazy when you put it on paper.  However, I have talked with lots of women and this is a common line of thought.

Is it any wonder that when I even think about dieting I gain 5 pounds. 

Curt is a weight issue guru.  In fact when his cholesterol was getting a bit too high and medications was advised – he told the doctor he wanted to try to handle it with diet.  He became known as the shrinking man.  He lost 40 pounds, which put him lower than when we got married.  *heavy sigh – what I wouldn’t give to be there – more on that later*

When Curt went back to the doctor, the nurse told him that the medicine was working.  He informed her he wasn’t taking medicine.  Surprised??  Yes, she was.   The doctor had him come back every three months because he didn’t believe it would last.  Why??  Maybe because we live in a yo-yo dieting  society.  (He now goes back every six months)

I’ve been thinking a lot about gluttony.   I’m getting a little  big for my fishbowl.  Buying a new tank (or the next higher size of pants) is just not an option I am going with.  

The Bible says that gluttony is a sin.   What is gluttony?   One thing it is not and that is – it is not talked about much in the christian community.    

I do think that the meaning of gluttony gets a bit confused.

 New Year’s eve and New Years day I was at two different parties.  There was a ton of food.   Did I eat more than I should – absolutely.  Was it wonderful – mmmm good.  I don’t think that is what the Bible is talking about when it talks about gluttony.  After all feasts were a part of  the traditions/religion.  Celebrations were a time of feasting.

Here’s my take on it – would love feedback.    

Glutton- one who eats to excess

The problem comes in when everyday becomes a feast day.   Curt has told me over and over that the way to lose weight is to consume less calories than you burn.  Gluttony then would be to regularly consume more calories than your body needs to operate efficiently.   For each person that amount will be different.

“What I wouldn’t give to be there” – getting back to that statement.   It is so easy to say that.  Starting a diet can be fun – for the first few days.  However, it takes discipline and ‘won’t power’.  I won’t eat just because I am bored.  I won’t eat just because I am sad.  I won’t eat just because I want to.  It isn’t called comfort food for no reason.

So it is 2009 and I am still battling this food issue.   I am putting this scripture around my house (click here for more on notes)  Psalm 119:133 “Establish my footsteps in Thy word and do not let any iniquity have dominion over me.” 

Lord I believe

yet here I go

struggling and wrestling

to live what I know.

Waves crashing …

one on top of another.

At times I think,

‘why do I even bother?’

Then I remember…

all that You have done

and Ill continue

‘til the battle is won!

The key is to not give up.  

til next time

January 3, 2009 - Posted by | just thinking about stuff, living in a fish bowl, weight loss | , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 Comments »

  1. Never quit. Never give up. Never admit defeat.
    Never.

    Comment by Pastor Curt | January 3, 2009 | Reply

  2. my pep squad!!!! One day at a time.

    Comment by Gloria | January 3, 2009 | Reply

  3. Glutton- one who eats to excess

    The problem comes in when everyday becomes a feast day.

    Ouch! – yeah, I’m there.

    Comment by tjalexander | January 4, 2009 | Reply

  4. tj – I have you to thank for all this thinking about food issues 😛 You and that 100 day challenge – ugh :<(

    Comment by Gloria | January 4, 2009 | Reply

  5. I’ve been thinking lately that…for me…there’s an element of gluttony that has to do with greed. Wanting more than I need. More than I should have.

    I’d never really thought of it that way before, and it’s just starting to make some sense. Though, so far it has not been a particularly pleasant meditation. Greediness does not look pretty on me.

    Comment by Cherie Bell | January 6, 2009 | Reply

  6. cherie, wanting more certainly does describe greed. To “eat to live” not “live to eat” is one of my mottos for this coming year. I really have to think about it, otherwise I just fall into bad habits.
    sigh

    Comment by Gloria | January 6, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

