Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

doc’s dolly’s

What??   That is one name that was mentioned for our group.  Actually one of the husband’s refers to us that way already.  Oy!!  Just because we are a bunch of women and we work for an eye doctor.  Yeah, well his sense of humor needs adjusting  – no pun intended 🙂 

I plunked down my $20.00 this afternoon and caved to the peer pressure.   I am now part of our Get fit America team.  I did inform the ‘king pin’ that when all this is said and done, I better not be 5 pounds heavier.  It was pretty much a threat. LOL  Although I dare say she is not one bit afraid.  😛

Since this is something I am doing with my friends – does it qualify as fun??  The verdict isn’t in on that one.  I do know my attitude is a bit skeptical.

I do believe that the condition of our bodies is important to God.  I do believe that our friends can encourage us to get healthier or ….  I also know that the weight issue is like a diamond.  It has many different sides. 

I will, no doubt, be blogging about the experience.  I must say the beginning is off to a rocky start.  I phoned Curt this afternoon and told him I had to decide today and I was leaving it up to him.  That way I can blame him either way.  LOL  I crack myself up sometimes with my logic.

I told him I really didn’t want to waste $20.00 and end up gaining 5 pounds.   I will always have the t-shirt.   He said he wasn’t real worried about the $20.00 but was a bit concerned about the 5 pounds.  LOL    He did think there could have some benefits to being a part of something in the community. 

So the deed is done.  No turning back.  I guess you have to record your weight and activities.  Hmmm is typing an activity?? 

I’ll be adding a new category – Get fit America.

til next time

January 8, 2009 - Posted by | get fit america, living in a fish bowl, relationships, weight loss | , , , , ,

5 Comments »

  1. You can do it! I have faith in you and in God to help us all succeed in this little venture.
    Yours truly,
    King pin

    Comment by tjalexander | January 8, 2009 | Reply

  2. At least you are not starting out with your expectations too high!

    Comment by Pastor Curt | January 8, 2009 | Reply

  3. tj, lead on King pin

    Curt, 🙂

    Comment by Gloria | January 9, 2009 | Reply

  4. I think typing could count as an activity. I, too, joined a group for the Get Fit initiative. I have tried to count carrying laundry up and down the basement stairs as a valid exercise. My biggest problem is fast food…before moving to Council Bluffs we never had it available because we were either in a very small town or very broke. I have gained 15 pounds since moving here…granted, I wasn’t that big to start with BUT if I continue to gain 2 pounds a year then in 10 years I will weigh…we won’t go there.

    Comment by Ruthie Oberg | January 15, 2009 | Reply

  5. Ruthie, I think carrying laundry should count 🙂 Our team has step counters. No wonder I am so tired. I walk way more than I thought I did in a given day (and that’s without any exercise).
    Since moving here fast food is within walking distance. Not that I walk there much. I would rather drive. 🙂 *sigh* it is just so convenient with my busy schedule. Yup again the real problem — to slow down and carve out margins in my day. It does take time to cook and eat healthy. When I see you at the Women’s convention we will be over half way there!!!!

    Comment by Gloria | January 15, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

