Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

the anchor holds

My last blog on lighthouses has me thinking about big ships.  Big ships fascinate me.  They are built to withstand enormous waves and turbulent waters.   Yet, when the ship wants to stay stationary, it is a small anchor that secures the ship. 

anchor – an instrument used to hold a ship at rest in the water.

Heb 6:19 ‘This hope we have as an anchor of the soul, both sure and steadfast and which enters the presence behind the veil,”

This hope — once we have placed our hope in Jesus  our  hope is secure.  It is the real deal.  It is not anchored in sand but in the presence of the Almighty.  Hope in Christ becomes our anchor.  It is the thing that keeps us at rest in whatever ‘water’ we find ourselves.  Knowing that God is at the ‘wheel’ of our life we can indeed rest in Him. 

“Col 1:27 “…Christ in you the hope of glory.”

Whether in rough waters or calm waters God is with us and we have hope.  I see so many people who are stressing over the economy.  Some people are frazzled, even dreading the future.  Unfortunately even Christians can fall into this trap by taking their eyes off of Jesus.  When we look at the storm, we sink into the water just like Peter. 

I have a special place in my heart for pastor’s wives.  That is really no surprise 🙂  It does seem that their ships look a bit more worn.   I am sure that has something to do with the fact that if the enemy can shipwreck the pastor’s wife then that in turn has a domino effect on the pastor and the congregation.  It should not come as any surprise then that she would be a target. 

 Whether you are a pastor’s wife or not  don’t let the storms shipwreck your peace or your joy.  Don’t give in to worry or fear.  Whatever comes our way God is not taken by surprise.  He is in control.  

This song is a powerful reminder that our anchor holds.   We all face storms of life.  Some of them are even pretty powerful.  As we remain rooted and grounded in Christ, as we continue to cling to Christ through faith,  the anchor will hold.  We will weather the storm.  God will see us through.  

I have journeyed
Through the long, dark night
Out on the open sea
By faith alone
Sight unknown
And yet His eyes were watching me
CHORUS:
The anchor holds
Though the ship is battered
The anchor holds
Though the sails are torn
I have fallen on my knees
As I faced the raging seas
The anchor holds
In spite of the storm
Ive had visions
Ive had dreams
Ive even held them in my hand
But I never knew
They would slip right through
Like they were only grains of sand
CHORUS
I have been young
But I am older now
And there has been beauty
That these eyes have seen
But it was in the night
Through the storms of my life
Oh, that’s where God proved
His love to me

til next time

January 18, 2009 - Posted by | Pastor's wife, spiritual reflections | , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

7 Comments »

  1. In God we trust, and he is worthy of our trust.

    Comment by Pastor Curt | January 19, 2009 | Reply

  2. I do realize what you meant when you said,”it is a small anchor that secures the ship” but I couldn’t help a little chuckle to myself at it.

    I remember the one opportunity I had to visit the naval base when my brother was there and we were still all on relatively good terms. When I saw some of the anchors they had there that they were using for ornamentation about the base my eyes got huge and I made a comment about how big they were. To which my brother informed me that those were just a few “small” ones. I did get to see some bigger ones afterward but I don’t know if I ever got to see the “big” anchors.

    I couldn’t help thinking when I read what you wrote, “I don’t know if ‘small’ is exactly the word I would use for them. Those ship anchors looked pretty big to me!” They are pretty small in relation to the size of the ship…but in light of that momentary flashback, it is kinda funny.

    Comment by LisaB | January 22, 2009 | Reply

  3. Curt – Amen

    Lisa – I also have seen some big anchors but like you mentioned they are really small in perspective to the ships they anchor. The bigger the ship, the bigger the anchor. When I look at the ship and then look at the anchor, my head says I would not trust that thing to hold the great big ship. Yet it does. Thus to me in comparison it is small. Glad it gave you a chuckle and brought back a good memory 🙂

    Comment by Gloria | January 22, 2009 | Reply

  4. God is never taken by surprise – always in control ! You’re right. That’s a powerful statement.
    Thanks again for your blog – what a blessing you are !

    Comment by Helene | February 10, 2009 | Reply

  5. Thanks Helene 🙂 God is good!

    Comment by Gloria | February 10, 2009 | Reply

  6. I had to laugh at the line “it’s no wonder pastor’s wives’ ships look a little more worn.”

    Ha Ha!

    Comment by Ruthie Oberg | February 17, 2009 | Reply

  7. Ruthie, yes it is rather funny in a sad sort of way. 🙂

    Comment by Gloria | February 17, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

