Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

how many days left??

The 100 day ‘get fit’ challenge has started.  There is something almost exciting about starting a diet.  It is even more so when there are a bunch of you all starting at the same time.   We have 10 people in our group.  Our fearless leader even managed to get one of the doctors to join.  Go king pin.

There is an electricity in the air.  On day one king pin cleaned out the cupboard at work.  No junk food for us.  She pitched a bunch of non-healthy snacks.  We really were a junk food junkie kind of group before this.  *sigh*

This morning I brought up a bushel load of diet pop to restock the frig and what did my eyes see when I opened the frig door??  A big ol bag of m & m’s.  I’m talking a jumbo ziplock bag – huge! 

Apparently someone forgot to tell Dr. B (from another office)  that we are all getting fit and trim.  So there I sit holding the bag and Jackie (aka Gidget) walks in.  Busted.    Did I mention the bag didn’t belong to me, nor was it opened??  LOL  Well, Gidget was quick to remedy that.  I should mention that I am not generally tempted by m& m’s but who knows.  After all it was the only junk food in the place.

  One of the girls lost 3 pounds already.  Go Sharon!!   We are certainly still in the honeymoon stage of this whole diet thing.   It is still very upbeat.  I hope the momentum continues.

I am glad that I joined.  I still hope that I don’t gain that 5 pounds I talked about earlier.  What I have decided is that I am going to focus on being mindful of the food I eat.   It is so easy to just grab a snack or piece of candy and continue on with whatever it is that I am doing.   I want to be mindful of what I am doing, and of what I am eating.

In fact mindful is the thing I am focusing on as this year starts.   Mindful – aware, attentive.  To really live in each moment.  I am great at multitasking but I am not so sure that has been a good thing.  To be mindful…. 

I am also working on being mindful of the abundant life that Jesus has for me.  Joy unspeakable and full of glory!!   It is so easy to get caught up in multitasking and schedules that my life no longer would be described as joyful – abundant.   It would better be described as too busy.  That is not the way it should be.  I am looking at things a bit different.  I am mindful of the wonderful things in my life.  I am taking time to live in the moment.

Getting back to this whole diet.  How many days are left??   It is going to be an adventure!! 

til next time

January 19, 2009 - Posted by | get fit america, weight loss | , , , , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. Its a little early to start counting the remaining days.

    Comment by Pastor Curt | January 20, 2009 | Reply

  2. You didn’t have to pitch the junkfood! You could have called me and I would’ve been more than happy to remove it from the premises and to make sure it never returned to tempt any of you again! *sigh* (Maybe something in there would’ve turned out to be whatever it is I’ve been craving all week that apparently isn’t anywhere in this house and has yet to be identified…you know the kind, where you KNOW you want something, something specific, yet you have no idea what it is or even which of the four basic food or junkfood groups it might even belong to.)

    Glad to hear things are still off to a good start. Hope that continues.

    Comment by LisaB | January 22, 2009 | Reply

  3. Oh the count down has begun Curt 🙂

    Lisa, I hate that when I am wanting something and I can’t quite put my finger on it.

    Comment by Gloria | January 22, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

