Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

as the day ends

Here it is the close of another day.  I’ve been up for almost 17 hours.  It has been a good day.  Yet even as I write that I am reminded that any day can be a good day.  It really does depend on attitude. 

Just try to have a good day while you grumble or speak negative things.  On the other hand,  it’s really hard to have a bad day when you choose to enjoy the day God has given you.  Just try spending one day in an attitude of gratefulness and really live in the moments.  It makes such a difference.

“Think of all the beauty still left around you and be happy.”  Anne Frank

Not sure what inspired Anne to write that quote.  I can think of many things.  Maybe the day was horrible.  Yet there is still beauty around.  Maybe the day was filled to overflowing with commitments.  Even if one does not see the beauty, it is still there.

I have come to the conclusion that happiness is a state of mind.  I can choose to embrace life or I can choose to endure life.  I really don’t enjoy living in survival mode.  I don’t think anyone does.  Yet many people live there.

I like to think back on my day before I go off to sleep.  Is there something I need to do differently?  Are there any decisions I made that maybe weren’t very good?  Did I live in this day?  What was my attitude like?  Did I do anything to encourage others?  etc

Lastly I end my day with prayer.  It is by far the best way to go to sleep.  I take all my answers to the above questions to God.  My mistakes I lay at His feet.  The things done right I thank Him for helping me.  Most importantly I thank Him for going through this day with me. 

As morning dawns I will pick up where I left off  in my conversation with God.  

Psalm 118: 24 “This is the day the Lord has made.  I will rejoice and be glad in it.”  (my own paraphrase)

til next time

January 21, 2009 - Posted by | just thinking about stuff, living in a fish bowl, spiritual reflections | , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Certainly our attitude makes a huge difference.

    Comment by Pastor Curt | January 22, 2009 | Reply

  2. :}

    Comment by Gloria | January 22, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

