Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

focus

Focus — what has my focus?  Hmm, it depends on the day.  Sometimes it  can be all about me – as that old country song sings it ‘What about me, what about my, what about I…”  (ugh I hate that song).  At times I can be focused on others to the point of ignoring what is going on inside of me.  This is not good either.  To truly walk in peace and joy I need to  be focused on God and His plan for my life.  He keeps me in balance with helping others, taking care of me and in handling the day to day problems with grace and mercy.

Sometimes the battle looms really large.  Maybe too much is happening at once.   Perhaps I have gotten sidetracked or overwhelmed.  Maybe my focus has shifted.

It is then that I am reminded of something that goes on in a football game.  I am not a big fan of the game, but sometimes my life can sure look like a football game.  Running back and forth, not ever really accomplishing anything lasting, but sure looking like what I am doing is important.  🙂   *sigh*

In football they have what is called an audible.  When the quarter back is in the huddle he calls out a play.  When they get to the line, he notices the opposing team is in a different line up.  No time now to get back in the huddle.  He calls an audible.  He shouts out different numbers and the team responds to the newly called play.   

I may set out on a course with every intention of doing this or that, but  then  God calls  an audible.   I need only to trust Him.  He sees things I can’t see.   He knows the ‘line up’ better than I do.   When I am in the thick of it I need only to look to God, to refocus on Him and His direction for the next step.    He is the best quarterback ever!!  

til next time

February 24, 2009 - Posted by | just thinking about stuff, spiritual reflections | , , , , , , ,

5 Comments »

  1. Change the plan???

    We do need to be able to hear the Holy Spirit speak to us and re direct our steps.

    That is kind’ve hard for some of us:) Some of us are a little hard of hearing and set in our ways.

    Comment by Pastor Curt | February 25, 2009 | Reply

  2. Ah, but God is big enough to get our attention 🙂 It is sometimes much easier than other times.

    Comment by Gloria | February 25, 2009 | Reply

  3. Believe it or not, I didn’t read your blog before writing mine yesterday. Both writing about focus…funny.

    You kids have been through a lot in the past couple of months…with schedules and lives that don’t really allow much wiggle room for major events.

    The problem with schedules is that we plan them based on everything going perfectly all the time…which is never the case, of course. And it seems like life…regardless of our expectations that things will start to slow down…becomes even more chaotic as we move into midlife.

    Kids (even if they’ve “sorta” left the nest). Aging parents who need extra support. Our own health isues. Spouses. Family. Friends. Jobs. A tiny little thing called MINISTRY! Even just the day-to-day running of our lives. And I’m here to testify that being on the road all the time is its own particular brand of crazy.

    There’s a real social challenge when God gives us the nod that it’s time to change the tide of crazy-ness. I think it’s actually more socially acceptable when we have these insane lives. People like trading war stories. It’s the common link. What everyone talks about. Not to mention facing the “disappointment” of our families and friends who have come to expect and depend on our willingness to do it.

    This all goes back to dttf – the living in the truth stuff. The truth is what we’re capable of handling gracefully changes as we age. It just does.

    My heart goes out to you, sweetie. Love you!

    Comment by Cherie Bell | February 26, 2009 | Reply

  4. Cherie, dttf – *heavy sigh* – but please keep praying. There is more work to be done. (I know hard to believe right? LOL) Praise God His pace is filled with grace, mercy, peace, and unconditional love (and in my case a mink coat – I will have to blog on that – what a sense of humor)

    The more we have attempted to change the tide of our crazy-ness, the more I have found that many people do wear their crazy busy life as a badge. In fact I am sure that I have done the same thing. Ouch! that was a real eye opener 😛

    Hon, I can’t even begin to think about what being on the road as much as you are would really be like. Oy!! That said I really miss you and look forward to your next journey this way 🙂

    As for both writing about focus – 🙂 You know what they say about great minds….

    keeping you in my prayers and knowing God is there every step of the way.

    Comment by Gloria | February 26, 2009 | Reply

  5. […] a glimpse inside my fishbowl It makes a difference what one surrounds themselves with.  I have found that it is extremely helpful for me to put up little (sometimes big) reminders to get my attention (to help me refocus).  […]

    Pingback by a glimpse inside my fishbowl « Living Life in a Fish Bowl! | February 26, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

