Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

a glimpse inside my fishbowl

I am going to open the curtain to what my fishbowl looks like at work.  Very few people actually get to see my office.  I’m located in the basement.  Have I mentioned that I like it there?  I do.

It makes a difference what kind of things you surround yourself with.   I have found that it is extremely helpful for me to put up little (sometimes big) reminders to get my attention (to help me refocus). 

 I deal with problems and insurance companies most of the day- actually the insurance companies are usually my problem.    This can pose many different types of challenges.  That and the people who out right lie to me about paying their bill.  It has certainly challenged my trust in people.   I have a tendency to gravitate to negativity if I am not mindful of my attitude.   To help me with that I use props.

At eye level by the phone I have an 8×10 picture of the ocean from a family trip to Florida with this scripture attached to it – Psalm 29:11b “The Lord will bless His people with peace.”  Just looking at that brings a smile and a renewed sense of hope.

I also have not one, or two, but six pictures of my family.  On one of the family pictures I have added – Gal 6:9 Let us not be weary in well doing; for in due season we shall reap, if we faint not.”  Hmmm, any guesses as to why I have that??

I’ve also hung up pictures of water, trees, and/or daisies.  My thought for the today calendar is currently stuck on a quote from Dwight L Moody – A holy life will produce the deepest impression.  Lighthouses blow no horns; they only shine.”

If you came to my office you would notice I have scriptures all over.  One by the phone states Seek peace and pursue it.”  Psalm 34:14.  On my computer screen there is 2Cor 12:9a “My grace is sufficient for thee.”  By the keyboard 1 Cor 15:58b “For as much as ye know that your labor is not in vain in the Lord.”  Along side a picture of my boys Isa 43:5a “Fear not for I am with thee.”  By the calculator Isa 40:31b “They that wait upon the Lord shall renew their strength.”   Hmmm, yes there does seem to be a pattern.

Then on my printer I have a Mooch cartoon that says “Dear Diary:  Life is good!  Yesh!

Indeed life is good!!

til next time

February 26, 2009 - Posted by | just thinking about stuff, living in a fish bowl, spiritual reflections | , , , , , , , , , , , ,

9 Comments »

  1. huhhummmmmm we must not forget the picture of you and two very good friends of yours!!!!! Friends can bring smiles too! :p

    Comment by tjalexander | February 26, 2009 | Reply

  2. All those scriptures will help you keep a right attitude.

    Comment by Pastor Curt | February 26, 2009 | Reply

  3. oh tj how could I leave that out 😦 Oops!! right there in the middle of my message board is this great picture!!! It is surrounded by all sorts of notes about insurances and ‘situations’ — it is the bright spot!!! yes indeed the world is a better place because of friends.

    Curt – yes they certainly help!! a right attitude is a good thing.

    Comment by Gloria | February 26, 2009 | Reply

  4. speaking of friends — work is a better place because of friends. I highly recommend that people get their friends jobs – if at all possible 🙂

    Comment by Gloria | February 26, 2009 | Reply

  5. You might want to amend that recommendation to getting them jobs at the same place you work to include praying about it as you try to do so. If you’re both known to be excessively competative and sensitive about it in a place where you both would be doing production work that goes by quotas…you might want to rethink it. The competition could prompt you both to do better and keep you on your toes, if it can remain a friendly competition. Unfortunately, I’ve seen that sort of thing get ugly creating a strain on the relationship and in a few cases, leading to it unraveling.

    Likewise, if you know you or your friend have a weakness for talking more than getting stuff done when you’re together you might want to reconsider that too. One instance in particular that I know of comes to mind where they both got chewed out by the boss because the one did a “great job” ’til the other was there but after the other came on board they were too distracting to each other to get anything done in the boss’s opinion. (No that was not me in the scenario but I know the person well enough that I sure did hear about it.)

    My personal experience working with a friend didn’t turn out so well either. She actually worked on a different shift but I was often caught inbetween them and other coworkers in disagreements over how things should be done and even though she trained me and probably knew the job better she ended up laid off and I was the one kept on. Personally, I think the personality conflicts she had, the higher pay she had, and the fact that they had a couple other people on her shift who could help with that job while I could cover in other areas had a lot to do with the decision, but I’m not so sure she saw it that way and while she didn’t blame me per say for it I did notice a considerable decrease in effort to maintain the friendship after that.

    Having friends in the workplace can help the workday to seem a little brighter. Depending on the friends, may even help you to keep your focus where it needs to be. Getting friends hired can be good…when it’s the right friend for the job. Prayer may help a lot there.

    Comment by LisaB | February 27, 2009 | Reply

  6. I guess for me as far as friends go, I make friends with total strangers where ever I work. Having them already start as friends just makes it better and easier.

    However, you did raise some very good points. I’m not excessively competative or sensitive so I have a hard time remembering that some people are. It could potentially strain a friendship, which would lead me right back to focus. What is my focus and am I doing what I should be doing?

    People come and go in our lives. Some are just for a short season (like your previous co-worker). It does take effort to maintain friendships and it really has to be a two way street.

    Yes, prayer helps tremendously with all of that.

    Comment by Gloria | February 27, 2009 | Reply

  7. I agree that it needs to be the right friend for the right job. I think what makes it work well in our situation is we work in different departments. So we see each other through out the day but we all have totally different jobs and are not constantly side by side. But when I walk up front to ask a question it is nice to see a friend. When people come back to my space to get a pop or ask questions it’s nice that it’s friends taking up my space. 🙂 I have issues with sharing my personal space with strangers 😉

    Comment by tjalexander | February 28, 2009 | Reply

  8. I like the Galatians 6:9 with the family picture. I think I’m going to “steal” that one from you.

    Comment by Ruthie Oberg | March 3, 2009 | Reply

  9. Ruthie, You go girl. I need that reminder more than I realize I am sure.

    Comment by Gloria | March 3, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

