Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

simple pleasures

When I was a kid I could ride my bike for hours or go horse back riding for an entire afternoon.  As I entered college I remember heading to the beach after class and spending the rest of the afternoon lounging around with my friends.  Simple pleasures were just a part of my life.  Ah, it was good!

Then I had twins and was blessed to be (for the most part) a stay at home mom.  There were still afternoons of bike riding or going to the pool.  Exploring an outdoor playground or spending the afternoon playing games was a common occurrence.  Money was tight and simple pleasures were abundant and didn’t cost much.  Ah, it was good!

Now my boys are grown and in college, I’ve added a second job,  there is more to do then time to do it, and I am getting older.  I had a friend  ask me what I did with all my time now that the boys are grown.  What???  Time?????   What time???  Ah, this is not good!

So I’m thinking that maybe I need to have a baby.  Yes, you read that right.   It was raining today and I miss splashing in the puddles.  I miss being a stay at home wife and mom.  Seriously though I think I have grown up too much.  When did it become ok to be so busy that I don’t take time to reconnect with old friends?  I am thinking more and more that ministry leaders wear their busy schedules as a badge of ‘honor’.   Like if my schedule is complicated and extremely full then surely I must be doing things right.  100 years from now will it matter?  5 years from now will it matter?  Tomorrow will it matter?

A  big thing now is all different ways of saying  ‘simple pleasures’ – ‘simplify’  – ‘relax’ – ‘enjoy’  there is even signs reminding you to ‘laugh’ etc.  I have a piece of wood that says ‘simple pleasures‘  that’s it just ‘simple pleasures’.  My friend gave it to me awhile ago.  It is one of my favorite knick knacks.  Why?  It is because the message is so strong.  

I’ve decided that since a baby is out of the question (right Curt??) that I am going to make it a point each day to schedule (if I have to) simple pleasures into my life.  Sounds pretty lame but in the same way that some ministers need to pencil in their family, I am at a point where I need to pencil in simple pleasures.

The first thing to be added to my schedule (yup I am adding something) is tea time.  I mentioned to Galina the other day that I think I must only love the  idea of tea.  I buy tea all the time but hardly ever drink it.  So therefore I must just love the idea of tea.  😦 You know relaxing with a cup of hot tea.   It is time to make that idea a reality.  It’s a start or I could see about that baby.  🙂

til next time

March 8, 2009 - Posted by | just thinking about stuff, Pastor's wife, relationships, spiritual reflections, twins | , , , , , , , , , , ,

7 Comments »

  1. BABY!!!???

    We need to talk.

    A cup of tea, sure, but a baby??

    Comment by Pastor Curt | March 9, 2009 | Reply

  2. Loving your blog… relating to the fish bowl. I’m a relatively new pastor’s wife… and yeah. wow. Loving your outlook.

    Blessings,
    CeCe
    cecemeetsworld.wordpress.com

    Comment by CeCe Garrett | March 10, 2009 | Reply

  3. Curt LOL
    CeCe welcome to the wonderfully exciting challenging life of a pastor’s wife. I plan to check out your blog after work.

    Comment by Gloria | March 10, 2009 | Reply

  4. Gloria, this was a great blog. Very important words you speak.
    I love the comment by Curt too!

    Comment by Kim Enfield | March 10, 2009 | Reply

  5. Kim, thanks for commenting. I’m sure Curt thought I was past all that.

    Comment by Gloria | March 11, 2009 | Reply

  6. Baby? Thought about foster parenting???

    Welcome, CeCe, to the wonderful world of “pastor-wifing.” I’ll check out your blog, too!

    Comment by Ruthie Oberg | March 12, 2009 | Reply

  7. Ruthie, either one would be a life change and a job change. I don’t see how I could continue to do both jobs and care for a baby or a foster child. That is probably why the desire has come up. Being a stay at home mom was a really really good thing for me. I miss it. 😦

    Comment by Gloria | March 12, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

