Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

pk’s – preacher’s kids

As a pastor/pastor’s wife I invest much of my life in people. Investing in my children is a top priority.

When our boys were just babies, Curt and I decided that we would make it a priority that our boys not get mommy and daddy leftovers. One way that we did this was to intentionally plan family time. Friday nights for a very long time were family night. Very rairly did we do anything church related on Fridays.

If you have to put your family on your calendar in order to have family time then do it. For most of us it won’t just happen. We are surrounded by more to do than we have time for.

Business trips became family trips. I had no problem taking the boys out of school to go to conventions with us. When they were little, I skipped the day time meetings and we hung out at the hotel. We also would miss one of the evening service at those meetings, to do something geared just for them.

Kids taking second place to ministry is very common. Yes, there have been times when we have had to postpone our family plans for something church related. One does not plan ahead for funerals or hospital trips. However, kids pick up real quick on whether or not church (ministry) is more important than they are.

Priorities for me are in this order 1st – God, 2nd – Curtis, 3rd – my boys, 4th – ministry. It’s when I get those four things turned around that I see my stress level go up. After all if God is not first then I am not operating in His strength.

If I put the boys before my husband then not only would I be setting a bad example, but it would not be healthy for my marriage. If ministry comes before Curt and the boys then others will think that it is ok to not make their families a priority.

Also it is important to remember that preacher’s kids did not pick this life. They were born into it. It is so important that pk’s do not get mommy and daddy leftovers.

til next time

 

March 18, 2009 - Posted by | living in a fish bowl, Pastor's wife | , , , , , , , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. I too am a PK and that is great advice. Bill Hybels sums it up by expressing the fact that if you loose your family for the sake of ministry, you have no ministry.
    http://welcome.allthingschurch.org/

    Comment by Archie | March 18, 2009 | Reply

  2. Archie, very good point, thanks for adding it.

    Comment by Gloria | March 18, 2009 | Reply

  3. Certainly creating and maintaining our relationship with our children is important, takes planning, thoughtfulness, and work. It also is a challenge to accept the changes in that relationship that come as a result of growing up.

    I’m still trying to get the hang of it.

    Comment by Pastor Curt | March 19, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

