Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

oh be careful little eyes…

There is a lot that can be said for children’s songs.  They are usually simple, repetitive, and filled with actions.  This is to help them remember and to grasp the idea behind the song.  I am reminded of the answer a famous German theologian gave when asked what was the most profound theological truth.  Answer – “Jesus loves me this I know, for the Bible tells me so.”   Simple and yet so profound.  Makes me want to sing “Yes, Jesus loves me….”

There is another children’s  song, that has been going around in my head.  

“Oh be careful little eyes what you see.  Oh be careful little eyes what you see.  For the Father up above is looking down in love.  So be careful little eyes what you see.”

I want to take a minute and do the actions.  I love action songs.  (Hip hip hip hippopotamus, hip hip hooray God made all of us — that is one of my favorites)

Ah, but this blog is not about a hippo but about what our eyes see.  It does make a difference what we see.    When I was a child Ricky and Lucy couldn’t even sleep in the same bed.  Now look where we have come.    We’ve come a long way, but it is not a good thing.

Little by little by little we are being desensitized.  Curt and I made a decision long long ago to not attend R rated movies.  Have you noticed a change occurring in  most PG -13 and PG movies lately?  Possibly not, because little by little the film makers are pushing the limit.  It used to be that the previews were approved for all ages.  It still says that ,but many of the previews I’ve seen are not appropriate.  Some of the previews are down right horrible. 

I had a lady (good christian) tell me the other day that she went to a particular movie (R rated -mostly for violence) and the language was horrible. Yet she admitted that by the time the movie was over she had pretty much gotten to the point where she overlooked it.  Funny thing, she didn’t say anything about the violence.  I wonder?   Just what is all that violence and language doing to our spirit?  

There is a popular t.v. show out right now that we were watching.  I love the two main characters.  Yet the show has shifted.  That was a pretty crummy thing to do, but little by little the main story plot began to change.  Curt and I have stopped watching it.  I have come to realize that to not even start watching a show is much easier than to stop after you have watched it for one or two seasons.  Hmmm is that the true plot??

I was trying to think of a movie to recommend to a friend who had asked me for some ideas.  I found that with each one I would say “Oh, this was really funny.  *heavy sigh* but there was a few parts that were truly unnecessary but they are in there.”  or “This one has a good message, but it has some language that is not good.”  Or finally “This one would have been a great movie, except that one of the lead characters is portraying sin in a great light.”    Did I mention that Curt and I are pretty particular about what we go to see or watch at home?  Well we are.  Yet it is hard to find a movie that is wholesome.  We prefer to rent videos because there is a fast forward button at home.  I really hate to get up and walk out of a movie that I paid a fortune for, but we have done it.

We turn our eyes from evil things. O Lord we cast down our idols.  Give us clean hands.  Give us pure hearts. ……..  O God let us be a generation that seeks Your face O God of Jacob.    song by Christ Tomlin

I think that is what it comes down to.  I can make a  choice to turn my eyes away  – to cast down my idols.  It does make a difference what I my little eyes see.   All food for thought.

This clip is filled with scriptures that would be good to meditate on.  I think I’ll get off now and do just that. 

til next time

March 20, 2009 - Posted by | just thinking about stuff, spiritual reflections | , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Gloria, thank you for the good word. May God continue his work in us, cleansing our hearts and our lives from sin.

    Comment by Pastor Curt | March 20, 2009 | Reply

  2. There’s a dvd player at the Family Christian Bookstore that Steve and I were looking at the one day that is designed $80to edit out a lot of the questionable parts of popular movies. I don’t remember how it worked, I think it had a special chip you could put in it and update from time to time. They had one on display for a while and the demo showed a part of (if I remember right) that Spiderwick movie that was out a little while ago. I think at the time it cost around $80.00. I don’t know if there are other divices like that out there. Maybe something like that would be a worthwhile investment for you to make that “careful little eyes” thing a little easier.

    When my niece was little my sister got movies from a special movie club that essentially did the same thing with the videos they sent out. I don’t know what it was called or if it’s still around, but maybe that’s another avenue you could look into to help with that?

    Comment by LisaB | March 21, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

