Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

walk a mile in my mocassins

It saddens me how quickly some Christians can be judgmental or harsh in their flippant comments.   Is it any wonder that some people will have nothing to do with Christianity when they have been extended the hand of someones self righteousness disguised as Christianity?  Pride is right on the heels of such comments.     How it must sadden the heart of Christ.

I was reminded today again of the importance of extending to people grace and mercy.  Unless we are in their shoes, we really don’t know all that is going on.  As we look at someone’s life it can be easy to jump to conclusions.  Usually, this means jumping to the wrong conclusion.

I heard from another pastor’s wife about how their church had a meeting with her husband and one of the complaints was that the  pastor was letting too many ‘outsiders’ in?   Huh?? Wow!  What does Jesus say about this?   It does remind me of the Todd Agnew song “My Jesus”.

As a pastor’s wife I have been on the receiving end of many a wrong judgment or harsh comment.     I firmly hold to the scripture that says to live in such a way as to silence the talk of ignorant men.  (1 Peter 2:15)  I have seen it work.

Oh, at the time it hurts (pastor’s wives have feelings just like everyone else) but I know where to run to.  I run into the arms of my Jesus and He soothes my wounded heart and He gives me a love for that person when just moments before I may have wanted to give them a piece of my mind or a taste of their own medicine.    Instead, Jesus helps me to not walk in the flesh and He keeps me from sinking into despair. (I will note here that sometimes it takes awhile to reach this point – it does mean letting go and letting God)

What happens when the comment or judgment is directed at someone new in Christ or someone who has given up on the reality of God (atheist or agnostic or back slidder)?   For someone new in Christ it can be a real deterrent to growth.  For the others, it will only enforce the negativity they have towards Christianity.  How this must sadden the heart of God.

We (Christians) are called to be imitators of Christ.  We may in fact be the only Bible some people read.  The way we treat people does affect how they view Christianity.  

In the early years I informed our youth group that this was a safe zone.   There would be no put downs allowed.  What one person means as a joke another takes to heart and is wounded.   The truth is there can be an element of true feelings that comes across as “I was just joking’.  The church is called to lift up not tear down.  

Sometimes, many times, most of the time, there is more going on than just what we see.  People are dealing with all sorts of issues.  We can either be a part of the problem — or we can be a positive influence on those around us.

I want to be like my Jesus.  For those God puts in my path that are aetheist, agnostic, or back slidden –  I want my life to cause them to rethink what they believe to be true.  I want to be like my Jesus.   

Here’s Todd Agnew’s song – listen to it if you have time. 

Who do you want to be like?  Will Jesus be accepted in your church?

til next time

April 4, 2009 - Posted by | Pastor's wife, relationships, spiritual reflections | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 Comments »

  1. Grace and mercy are wonderful things both to receive and to give to others.

    Comment by Pastor Curt | April 4, 2009 | Reply

  2. It is great when it works both ways. Oh to the one who wants only to receive but not give grace and mercy.

    Comment by Gloria | April 4, 2009 | Reply

  3. Is there a way to receive an email when you update your blog? Sometimes I don’t get around to reading and then when I come I have a whole backlog to get caught up on! I enjoy your writing…you have a great down-to-earth way of speaking. Maybe we should start a little devotional magazine written by Iowa Pastor’s Wives…at least we’d buy it! Ha Ha!

    Comment by Ruthie Oberg | April 7, 2009 | Reply

  4. Ruthie I don’t know if there is one. There should be, but not sure how that works. I’ll try to remember to attach you to the post in facebook. 🙂
    I like the idea of a devotional magazine – then maybe I could quit my day job. LOL

    Comment by Gloria | April 8, 2009 | Reply

  5. Amen.

    How are you?

    CeCe

    (IVF was postponed until May.. it would have fallen during Holy Week this month and no one should have to work on Easter aside from us)

    Comment by CeCe Garrett | April 10, 2009 | Reply

  6. CeCe, Life in ministry is one adventure after another as you well know 🙂 We are fighting the good fight. Had great Easter services. What a glorious time.

    Praying for you – May will be here soon.

    Comment by Gloria | April 14, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

