Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

holy roller or chandelier swinger??

Back in the 70’s Pentecostals were referred to as holy rollers.  Even today there are people who still use that term.  I’ve also been asked if we swing from chandeliers?  Hmm, there was a time when I really wanted to try that.  When they do it in the movies it sure looks like fun.  That is until the ceiling falls down. 

I had a friend Sunday tell me that she told her mom that she was going to a Pentecostal church.  Her mom was a bit skeptical.

In fact her mother said, ‘They’re weird.’  

Now wait a minute.  She has never even met me.    At least meet me before you determine that I am weird.  LOL 

Seriously though, if weird means that I am excited about my faith in God, that I live out my faith each day, and that  my Bible comes off the shelf on Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, and Saturday (not just on Sunday) then yes, I am weird.  If by being weird you mean that I trust  God (not just IN God but I trust God), that I believe the Bible to be truth, that I live my life for Him, then yes I am weird.

chandelier3

So when it became evident that the church needed a new chandelier, we couldn’t pass up the opportunity to be sure to get one that passed swinging expectations.

So here is Susan giving it the one, two.  Nope this one did not quite  measure up.  

We did find one though.  It is not like the beautiful glass one that we are replacing.  We decided that, while that one looked great, it was just too much trouble to clean and the bulb replacement was a pain.

So tonight I am heading up to our ladies meeting and will get to see if in fact it looks as good as we thought it would.  

I am excited.  Change is good.  Beauty, yet practical is also good.  Who knows maybe I’ll take a swing.     

til next time

April 9, 2009 - Posted by | just thinking about stuff | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 Comments »

  1. Be sure to get a video clip for your blog the next time you swing from the chandeliers or roll down the aisle.

    For the record, I have never seen anyone actually do either of those things.

    Comment by Pastor Curt | April 9, 2009 | Reply

  2. that’s a good idea 🙂 I have seen kids roll down our hill in front of the church. Does that count?
    FYI – It looks beautiful!! Although the one in the stairway may need a softer bulb — wowzer bright!

    Comment by Gloria | April 10, 2009 | Reply

  3. Picture, please!

    Comment by Cherie Bell | April 14, 2009 | Reply

  4. The first time my Mom and I went to an AG church was for a concert and for whatever reason, the group didn’t show up. So they were going to have a service instead, we stayed for a bit and then they started praying and my Mom said “Quick, let’s leave their going to start rolling on the floor”! : )

    Comment by rose | August 2, 2009 | Reply

  5. Rose hey welcome to my world of blog. Thanks for commenting and what a great story. To think you then went off to an AG college. Wowzier!!

    Comment by Gloria | August 2, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

