Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Gloria’s take on life.

our boys

My boys turned 21 this weekend.    Andrew left on Thursday to spend the week-end with Chris.  A week-end filled with many plans.    Chris ran his first half marathon — Go Chris!!  

I really don’t know where the time went.  I don’t feel old enough to have 21 year olds.

The first thing I notice with this picture of our boys is that Chris is in red and Andrew in blue.  This is significant because when they were little, in order to tell them apart, those were the colors we put them in.twins

I doubt that the boys even give that a thought anymore and yet many times I find them in these colors.  Which has me thinking about the impact those first few years have on children.  

I was blessed to be a stay at home mom for most of their childhood.   When they hit high school I did work full time, but it was at the Middle School. It was a toss up as to who really enjoyed snow days more.   I am glad that I was able to be there in the morning and after school.  I cherish those memories.   

Empty nesting is looming around the corner.  This is something I know needs to happen, but I also know it will be hard.  A lot of firsts – sometimes I think I am too old for ‘firsts’.   *sigh*  Yet they keep coming. 

The most recent ‘firsts’ —    First holiday that both boys weren’t here (Easter).   First time neither boy is home for his birthday.  

The big ‘firsts’ coming up – First summer Chris isn’t coming home.   First Apartment.   First time it will just be Curt and I in this really big house.     First time both boys will no longer be in Iowa.  (The are trading in the fishbowl for anonymity.)

Here’s some more recent pictures of our boys.   

   aw-motorcycle1   aw     aw1 cg-and-gs    at-the-mall2  c-g1

                 the-guys-at-christmas   at-cabin1

Things are changing.  I wonder was it this hard on my mom?  I think it must have been harder as my dad passed away right after I graduated from high school.   Praise God Curt and I will have each other.   Another reason it is so important to keep ones marriage healthy.

I am quite excited about what I see going on in our boys  lives.   They have indeed entered into manhood with style.  I couldn’t be prouder!    

til next time

April 26, 2009 - Posted by | living in a fish bowl, twins | , , , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. There are twenty one years of memories, with many more still to come.

    Comment by Pastor Curt | April 27, 2009 | Reply

  2. You and Curt made it through a holiday w/out the boys? OMGosh. That is BIG. I remember the first Thanksgiving(so far, ONLY) Tom and I had w/out either Kate or Caleb – I was NOT a happy Momma. I promised myself if there ever was a next time, I’d be volunteering or something…ANYTHING…rather than sitting in a crappy little diner in Lowden, Iowa, eating soggy dressing and trying not to cry. I was so beside myself I didn’t know what to do.

    I seem to remember that the pumpkin bar was good, though! 🙂

    It DOES get better…not that Holiday part…not for me, anyway…but you know, in general.

    Love you, gf.

    Comment by Cherie Bell | May 4, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

